We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant find in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Sunset Grill

Sunset Grill
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“pleasant find in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at a hotel across the road for the night and stopped in at this restaurant based upon the many positive reviews found on this site. Restaurant is nicer on the inside than it is on the outside, and the menu is very diverse. Kids menu also available. We had a variety of appetizers and main entrees and all were well prepared and enjoyed. Service was also good. No complaints or concerns.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    42
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chowder, Pizza, Coconut Shrimp.... All Good!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

You don't usually think of going out of the way to stop at a small diner attached to a Motel 6, but this is worth the trip. The clam chowder was excellent, coconut shrimp awesome, and our guests had the BBQ chicken pizza that was better than the pizzas they'd had in Cambria. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank alidoremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over-priced Breakfast Buffet. Food Just So-So.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The title says it all. A cramped space in a small restaurant adjoining I believe a Motel 6. It was okay for a quick meal. My son paid for our meal so I didn't want to complain. I am dong this review for the good of other travelers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Buffet Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The variety was very basic and the service was pretty slow. Wouldn't recommend it. But for 8 $ pp it wasn't too bad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ST86000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Didn't even stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We came here for dinner, but left immediately. Apparently the adjacent hotel is being worked on and the noise was horrible! We could barely hear the young man who seated us, plus he made no mention of the noise! And it was after 6pm! We were very disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Grill also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing