We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, old school motel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint, old school motel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Felt like we had stepped back to the 70's or we were in an episode of the Brady Bunch! Really quaint hotel, older style but clean tidy & comfortable. Views of the beautiful coastline across the highway. Would recommend !

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tone2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    222
    229
    70
    66
See reviews for
183
324
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Basic Motel. Clean. Right on highway. No breakfast. Heated Pool. Restraunts across the road.
No traffic noise. Good for overnight stop on the way to San Francisco or LA. Other motels also nearby if this is full.

Room Tip: Ground level at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Silver Surf. It was a quick stay so we weren't looking for the fanciest or priciest of the motels. The room was clean and met our expectations. The only thing missing, that I would strongly recommend the motel, is a hairdryer. I would also recommend complimentary breakfast and coffee included with the room. San Simeon and the surrounding area is very small and doesn't have many restaurants or coffee shops before getting back on the road. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Real close to the beach and 7 miles from Hearst castle and friendly people at the desk. Also it was a good value for the area. Didn't smell musty like the hotel across the street that we stayed at years ago!
Breakfast was offered for 7$ with no break for people staying at the hotel. It was a little old, but didn't cause a problem. It was good for children with a pool indoors, but it was too windy to use when we were there. We would have frozen getting back to our room. It was a ways from the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdwlcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Three friends, staying one night. Fridge, microwave & coffee maker, but no hair dryer. Wouldn't have been too bad, except for the fact that the one of us who slept on her own is covered in bed-bug bites. Really nasty, large, very itchy bites, that are taking ages to get rid of.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

So, we chose this property for a last minute trip to Hearst Castle. We needed rooms for four adults and two children and wanted the children in the same room as the parents. I knew this area was more the King room "bed and breakfast" style area as I have stayed here many times. Locating a second room that could sleep four was limited so we read other reviews and decided to chance it here with the few selections available. We stayed two nights, for a total of 120 each room, and it was uneventful. Pros: we had the heated pool and spa to ourselves, it was a one minute walk to a lookout point across the street where we were able to watch the sunset, a microwave, cheap coffee maker, and refrig are included in your room, there is a book in the lobby with a directory of all the local restaurants, including menus and price lists, I thought the pillows were really comfortable, and our bathroom was extremely clean, like a crime scene cleanup had taken place in there. Cons: they are redoing some windows and are VERY noisy in the morning, there is no breakfast included-which stinks with little kids, the wifi can be sketchy at times and the cell is limited, and the rooms are obviously outdated-clean, but outdated (no hair dryer! NO AIR CONDITIONING!!!). Some other things to consider-pets are welcome here in only specific rooms and there is a large grass courtyard for them to play. A sneaky secret is that the Best Western across the street has fire pits burning in the evening. Their guests weren't really using them and it wouldn't be much of a stretch to just "wander over" for a bit. We ate several meals in Cambria at the Main Street grill who had amazing salads ($5-10) and burgers ($4-7)-great place for tweens to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you're looking for luxury, go somewhere else. If you're looking for a clean room with all the basics to rest your head after a day of sight seeing in one of the most gorgeous places on Earth, book here. San Simeon is incredible; the entire Central California Coast is. No description can do it justice. This inn is a "good enough" kind of place. Nothing special, but it is very clean and the beds are comfortable. There's a fridge and a microwave in the room (these are key amenities for us, we're usually traveling with kids and constant eating out gets VERY expensive), there's cable TV, there's a clean bathroom. Large and well-maintained grass area is great for kids who need to get out of the room and RUN a bit, and the pool is indoors and heated, so even if it's chilly out (which it USUALLY is in this area) the kids can still swim. Note the abundance of the word KIDS; if you don't want to deal with kid noise, this is not the place for you. I suggest one of the smaller boutique inns just south of here, in the Cambria/Moonstone Beach area. If you're a family with children and on a budget, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDillonDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Property: Silver Surf Motel
Address: 9390 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing