We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Satisfactory Silver Surf Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
259 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Satisfactory Silver Surf Motel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We didn't want to spring for Moonstone Beach Cambria prices, and this San Simeon location is only 5 minutes away from Cambria by car. The room is basic, but clean, acceptable, very quiet, free wifi, and cheap! What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Choose a room at the far back, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    224
    234
    71
    68
See reviews for
187
331
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in this motel for one night while traveling highway 1 in September 2013. The room was clean and comfortable and there did not appear to be anything before or after while on the road but to be fair we did not explore past highway 1. The motel had a spa but we did not use it.

There was a bar and restaurant almost next door and a small convenience store as well.

We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but had an very good breakfast the next day. We used the bar during the evening and toasted the sun as it dropped below the horizon which was very magical.

Hearst Castle is close by which was one of the reasons for stopping here and is worth a visit to find how people with too much money can spend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn-Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iona, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

When passin through San Simeon, most places were full so this was more of a last resort place, bit above the shower was in need of a clean and the room had a funny smell, the room was quite cheap however for what the place was like, I'd stayed in nicer places for the same price, also breakfast was not included which could have been for better value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhonaM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

as part of our road trip we hadn't booked the last couple of nights accommodation. I knew we was going to be staying in this town so when we arrived we just called into a few hotels/motels to see who was the cheapest rate. at 8pm this was the cheapest so decided to stay. we was allocated a disable room which was right next to the spa pool. room was quite big and looked clean. the bathroom was a wet room and really clean aswell. we got changed and got straight into the Jacuzzi which was great after the long day on the road we had. didn't get in the pool as it felt too cold after being really hot in the Jacuzzi. we didn't eat around here at night but the guy who checked us in on reception had give us some discount cards for local businesses. we did travel into cambria just down the road for fuel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dustybin1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location of this hotel is great. The front desk guy was a bit rude and would not give me a receipt because I booked on Hotels.com. The grounds needs some attention and the rooms need a deep cleaning, Breakfast was $7 and you could go next door and get great food for that price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urgnurse96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

South Wales,UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel while visiting Hearst Castle. Hotel is in need of updating, very drab! The rooms were clean but the shower didn't work properly and there is no air-con! The receptionist did provide us with a fan though. There are much nicer hotels in the area, would not stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cal47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Not knowing the area I went by price on choosing a place to stay. It had everything I could need: bed, bathroom and even microwave, tv and fridge.

The room was on the 1st floor in the corner. You could hear the footsteps of the people upstairs as well as their toilet flushing. The doors automatically lock when you leave and is a doorknob lock only. The deadbolt lock is only available from inside the room. The room was dated and felt grimy. Even the toilet seat had a stain that wouldn't come out. It also smelled like smoke even though the room was supposed to be non-smoking.

The price of the motel was definitely the cheapest in the area. I don't recommend it and won't stay again.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e_gyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.5 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Property: Silver Surf Motel
Address: 9390 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing