We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice location”
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Lovely Best Western on a small cliff, with great views and access to the beach. Rooms above average motel size., with more than adequate facilities for the size and grade of the hotel.Small pool quite nice, restaurant above average.
In the evening they light fires on the bluff for you to sit around whilst you watch the sunset over the beach - very nice touch.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    825
    219
    81
    26
See reviews for
640
1,521
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

Idyllic location, wide range of rooms for different budgets, great service, spotless room, WIFI working, pools and spa great. I can't believe this place! I have paid much more to stay in far worse places. The owner is to be HIGHLY commended for maintaining such a great space to enjoy the ocean view and public space above the bluffs. Can't wait to come back.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING in order and a great night's sleep.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DropAnchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We had been traveling down the Big Sur from Monterey to Los Angeles and we were recomended to stay here.
What a fabulous hotel.
Our room was on the second floor facing the Ocean. What a fantastic view. we were maybe 10 yards from the beach with a large balcony and small grass area in between.
The room had everything. Nice soft beds, good size bathroom, Coffee making facility and fridge / minbar and a great view.
The focal point of the room was a large wood burning stove.
The restaraunt was good value for money with a wide choice of food. We decided to book a table when we checked in and are we glad we did, when we went to eat it was full, a very popular eating place.
We will certainly go back when the whale watching time comes around

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank martin_rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

During our 10 day vacation in California this was our favorite hotel.
We only stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed several.
Room with patio, fireplace and water view. We loved sitting around the outdoor firepits that are lit at 7PM (till 11 PM), and talking with the other guests about their travel experiences. The beds were so comfortable, and the staff was so friendly and helpful - they told us about a herd of elephant seals that could be seen a couple of miles up the road. Also, 2 miles south down the road is the Sea Chest restaurant in Cambria - the best meal we had in California. We hope to get back there someday!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

This hotel is ideal for a day or two away from it all. We have stayed here twice this year (previously in March), both times in first floor ocean view rooms. We loved the setting and I must be a pyromaniac as our fire was raging all evening until we ran out of fuel. Only downside we had was a waitress in restaurant who acknowledged each request we made but did not act on any of them. Would recommend.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — restaurant service
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

We booked the Hearst Castle package for Monday and Tuesday nights at the Cavalier, which turned out to be a good deal.

We stayed in an upstairs 'oceanview' room. Make sure you specifically ask for an upstairs room if you would like a good view of the ocean. The rooms closest to the front-office end of 'kings row' have the best views. The room has a spacious balcony and cozy fire. Between the room and the beach there is a big front lawn.

There are some more expensive rooms positioned even closer to the beachfront, to the side of the property, called 'oceanfront' rooms. Apparently they are a bit more fancy inside so might be worth it. I noticed that a couple of those rooms look to be side-on to the beach, so make sure you book one of the front ones.

The food was good for breakfast but don't have your other meals on-site unless you have to. Go into town for dinner.

Service is very friendly.

This is not luxury accommodation, but it is a very pleasant place to stay.

Check out the elephant seal colony just up the road too.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old fashioned
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I did a LOT of research before choosing a place to stay in the San Simeon/Cambria area, and I was very pleased with this property. We had an oceanview king room on the second floor, and it was beautiful. Spacious and very clean. The in-room fireplace didn't work very well, but that was OK. The hotel looks right out onto the ocean where you can see seals and the occasional whale passing by. There are also steps down to a somewhat interesting beach area with rocks and tidal pools. The outdoor fires at night are kind of neat, too, and they are a nice place to gather and wind down after a day of sight-seeing. You are very close to some good wineries (I recommend Castoro for good wine and beautiful property). The pool is small, but OK for a quick dip in the hot tub. And there is glass around it to keep out the wind. The on-site restaurant is quite a good diner style place with good service and reasonable prices. For more inventive choices, Cambria is only 5 minutes by car.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PatchesinMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
855 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing