We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This property is wonderful!!! The only recommendation that I would give is that it is about time that they upgrade to flat screen televisions especially in the ocean front and ocean view rooms.

The restaurant is excellent although reservations are always advised for dinner. It gets very busy!!! An extra advantage is that they do not charge any special fees for room service and the food is just as good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,495
    780
    202
    78
    20
See reviews for
601
1,431
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
anaheim
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The location was great, right on the beach. We were able to walk along the beach and in the evening, there are fire pits to enjoy a relaxing time. On the down side, this hotel did not have hotels, and when having to carry up bags for a family to our second floor room, that was a downer. However, the staff was helpful at assisting. The room was spacious but a bit outdated, a definite 80's theme. There is no a/c and no fans in the room. The staff did bring us a portable fan but the room was still quite warm. I'd recommend a first floor room at this establishment. Only one place to eat, and no complimentary breakfast with this stay. Nearest city is about a 10 minute drive, no local gas stations in this area. Have to drive to Cambria for gas.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof6Anaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is really a great place to stay and a great value. We went to see Hearst Castle which is only a 5 minute ride down the highway. The hotel is right on the ocean with a nice grass area in front. At night they light the fireplaces making for a lovely place to sit and relax. Our room was very nicely appointed with a wood burning fire place , with those cute little round wood cutouts supplied for you to light it easily. The toiletries supplied were great, even makeup remover and a foot wash cloth! The staff was more than friendly and helpful. Yes the rooms green carpet is a bit outdated but with ocean views like this for a great price - who cares! The onsite resteraunt is really good, we ate breakfast and dinner there and both tasted great. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Well managed and a great deal. Love this place!

Room Tip: get an ocean view room with a patio, completely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyandyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I along with two of our friends stayed here one night on our way to Hearst Castle. The employees were very nice and helpful and the rooms were perfect. We stayed in oceanfron suites with woodburning fireplaces and loved it. They even had a Kerig coffee maker in each room. Oceanfront suites are right near the hot tub and pool. The highlight of my trip was relaxing here on our patio by the sea watching the sunset. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles07ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here 40 yrs ago for our honeymoon. We made the right choice then and continue to come back whenever we go up the coast. If you have a special occasion those ocean front rooms may be the best on the Central coast. We have no regreats about spending the money. Worth every dollar and we are not big spenders.
This place is on a cliff above the beach with access down to the beach as well. If you want to visit Hearst castle, you can't find a better, more convient place.

Room Tip: book an ocean front room if you possibly can. Pricey but worth it for a place you won't forget
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

People who run this motel obviously take great pride in keeping it nice . Friendly thoughtful staff . Very clean and comfortable .Pool is really heated and the oceanfront delightful . BUT be careful not to eat in the restaurant that adjoins the parking lot unless you seek Des Moines style cuisine of factory produced , cafeteria level food at 3 star prices .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gidtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was our fourth time staying here and my wife and I where not impressed. We always stay on the second floor ocean front rooms because it's quiet and you don't see people early in the morning walking in front of your window. This place is nice but not one thing has changed in the last 6 yrs since we have been going there. Oh! wait a minute the alarm clock now has an iPod dock (which didn't work!). The hotel is in need of some serious upgrades. The old smelly furniture, bulky TV, and old overall look just isn't cutting it anymore. They make plenty of money to make some changes I'm just not sure why they haven't yet. If you ever stay her please pay with your card and NOT cash or else your entire trip will come crashing down. Their restaurant is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiatravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,269 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing