We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal position”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Sadly we only had a one night stay here but it was perfect for our needs. It is ideal for a visit to Hearst Castle but it was the beautiful outlook and grounds that made it truly special. We spent several hours chatting to new friends around the fire pits and would recommend the experience to all fellow travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadwaterannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,571
    824
    217
    81
    26
See reviews for
639
1,519
66
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We loved this hotel. The Ocean View rooms were terrific. Roomy, comfortable, a working fireplace (they provided presto logs), great view of the surf. The restaurant next door was very convenient for us to pick up fresh coffee each day. Perfect for a visit to San Simeon. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for Kings Row rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy49034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a nice stay at the Cavalier. Although it is an older hotel, it has been maintained well and was clean and comfortable. Best feature is the location, right on the water. There are 3 Fire-Pits down near the beach, and they light nightly 'campfires' where you can sit and watch the sunset, have a bottle of wine, and meet your fellow guests - we met people from Arizona and Oregon and had some interesting talks about travel and living in different sections of the country. People were toasting marshmallows, and at one of the fires a trio of women were singing in perfect harmony! Very enjoyable.

There is a restaurant on the premises where we had breakfast (very well prepared and delicious), but for lunch or dinner you might want to drive to nearby Cambria where there are several nice places and a good pizzeria (JJ's). There is also a liquor store where you can buy the aforementioned bottle of wine;)

Nice place, and the layout and pool area gave me a feeling of nostalgia for when I was a kid and used to go to this kind of motel with my parents.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel has uninterrupted views over the Pacific ocean with expansive lawns going right down to the water's edge. It is 10 minutes drive to Hearst Castle, the main tourist attraction, apart from the coast road and the colony of elephant seals, near San Simeon. Room charges are at the higher end for hotels of this type (US$220 per night). The ground floor king room was clean and comfortable with a small terrace overlooking the lawns and the ocean. No doubt the view is reflected in the cost of the rooms. Staff are friendly and the restaurant is very good. There is only one or two other hotel/motels in the area and the hotel restaurant is the best place to eat with good quality meals at realistic prices. Other choices tend to be limited to the fast food options. We recommend this hotel as a convenient place to stay if Hearst Castle is on your agenda. You will need to set aside a significant part of the day to do one of the castle tours.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I love staying here, fire places in room, bonfires on bluffs above beach at night, well maintained property.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The rooms were clean and the bed was nice and comfy. The view of the ocean was great and they give you a pair of binoculars in the room. Loved the fire pits and night. The restaurant wasn't five star dining by any means, but it was fine. A very nice place to stay if you are going to see the Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexybride2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My husband and I stayed her for six nights on our honeymoon. We had found this great hotel a year before our wedding when we were on a road trip through California and knew we would come back as soon as we were planning our honeymoon.

The beds here are extremely comfortable and the views are amazing. We booked into an oceanview room and loved having the fireplace. Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and it is clean and well kept.

We ate at the restaurant several times. There was a good variety of food, especially considering the length of time we spent in San Simeon.

While you won't be overwhelmed with things to do in San Simeon, it is a beautiful place to be if you are looking to relax. Walks down the beach and evenings either by the cliffside fires or in the hot tub were a great way to wind down. I had a massage at the Diva Day Spa in the complex next to the hotel as well - they did a great job.

While in San Simeon, I'd recommend a tour of Hearst Castle. Dinner at the Sow's Ear in Cambria was hands down the best meal of our trip and San Luis Obispo is not too far for a day trip if you wanted to catch a movie and do some shopping.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
900 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
806 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
854 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing