We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel at a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at a great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The proximity to the Hearst Castle was the reason we stayed here. The room was nice (we picked the ocean-front room) The adjoining restaurant was good. Though the hotel is a little dated, the room size was generous. The front desk staff were great. The kicker (and our highlight) was the evening fires along the beachfront of the property. We had a great time talking with other guests. Okay, the pillows were a little too soft for our liking, but we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinxkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    802
    210
    79
    21
See reviews for
615
1,470
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, WA.
Level Contributor
294 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Our room was right on the ocean. You could see the ocean from our bed. You could watch the surfers, kite surfers etc. There are elephant seals by the 1000's right down the road as well as the Hearst Castle right there too! They had bonfires on the grounds in multiple spots.The front desk people were super nice. This place is all about service. We loved it here.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is on the beach side. Get reservations at the restaurant as they fill up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaGoldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This reasonably priced, clean, and peaceful spot was wonderful for my family. . Small rooms but sufficient. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AppleTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Very nice hotel. We loved it!
It's about a 5-minute drive to Hearst Castle. We had a king oceanfront room and had a wood-burning fireplace - very nice for those slightly chilly summer evenings. The bed was also very comfy.
There was a sitting area in front of the glass sliding doors - we enjoyed the beautiful views while having dinner in the room.
The only thing I wish the room had was a screened door... we had to keep the glass sliding doors closed to keep any bugs out at night, but then we couldn't hear the waves. But other than this small thing, we truly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Sadly we only had a one night stay here but it was perfect for our needs. It is ideal for a visit to Hearst Castle but it was the beautiful outlook and grounds that made it truly special. We spent several hours chatting to new friends around the fire pits and would recommend the experience to all fellow travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadwaterannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We loved this hotel. The Ocean View rooms were terrific. Roomy, comfortable, a working fireplace (they provided presto logs), great view of the surf. The restaurant next door was very convenient for us to pick up fresh coffee each day. Perfect for a visit to San Simeon. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for Kings Row rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy49034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a nice stay at the Cavalier. Although it is an older hotel, it has been maintained well and was clean and comfortable. Best feature is the location, right on the water. There are 3 Fire-Pits down near the beach, and they light nightly 'campfires' where you can sit and watch the sunset, have a bottle of wine, and meet your fellow guests - we met people from Arizona and Oregon and had some interesting talks about travel and living in different sections of the country. People were toasting marshmallows, and at one of the fires a trio of women were singing in perfect harmony! Very enjoyable.

There is a restaurant on the premises where we had breakfast (very well prepared and delicious), but for lunch or dinner you might want to drive to nearby Cambria where there are several nice places and a good pizzeria (JJ's). There is also a liquor store where you can buy the aforementioned bottle of wine;)

Nice place, and the layout and pool area gave me a feeling of nostalgia for when I was a kid and used to go to this kind of motel with my parents.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,634 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing