We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms need a bit of help, but has great views of ocean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Covina, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“rooms need a bit of help, but has great views of ocean!”
Reviewed 19 December 2007

I stayed here for just one night with some friends while on a charter bus trip. On the slightly negative side, the pillows were a bit too squishy for me, and the coffee machine didn't work right and made a mess all over the sink. Also, the on-site restaurant was quite mediocre and I have a separate review about that. No gift shop on premises either.
However, there are lots of positives: nice room, cable TV, good vanity area, decent bathroom, full length mirror, alarm clock, not too much noise, and a lovely view of the ocean. You can walk just a few yards down to the rocky beach from the hotel. Also, you can make a short drive up to the Hearst Castle visitors center and then to the castle tour buses, or see the elephant seals in January when they arrive at San Simeon. Also close to Cambria.
We were able to get decent free coffee in the lobby.

  • Liked — Ocean views
  • Disliked — Some problems with room
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caltravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    816
    212
    80
    23
See reviews for
628
1,495
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

The room was average. We did not have an ocean view, nor a room with a fireplace. But, the place was clean and the staff very nice. Unfortunately, we had fog for our stay, but I've been in the area before (staying on Moonstone), so know what an incredible view this place has when the weather is clearer. The firepits were very nice at night to enjoy and listen to the ocean. The restaurant had good food and the servers were incredibly nice. This hotel has so much open land space, it is very easy to relax. The only problem we had was the sound level on the TV - very low, making it difficult to hear the free movies you can check out at the front desk. I would not hesitate to stay here again, but think I would upgrade to an oceanview room.

  • Liked — Location and firepits
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2007

We stayed here for two nights Dec 1 & 2 on our trip up the California coast. We had a very nice stay. This is a family run operation going back 40 years and it shows in the warm treatment of guests. We got an AAA-discounted rate over the net. There are cheaper options around the area but overall we felt it was good value for the money. It is on the ocean and we had a first floor room with an ocean view and fireplace which we happily used. The rooms was comfortably large with a nice kingsize bed. They have three fire pits along the shoreline where you get sit out at night. We found the onsite restaurant both good and reasonably priced. Warning, even on an off-season weekend, it was fully booked when we arrived, and they were sending people across the highway to other motels. We would happily stay here again.

  • Liked — the view and fireplace
  • Disliked — too many dogs
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Lovely Best Western on a small cliff, with great views and access to the beach. Rooms above average motel size., with more than adequate facilities for the size and grade of the hotel.Small pool quite nice, restaurant above average.
In the evening they light fires on the bluff for you to sit around whilst you watch the sunset over the beach - very nice touch.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

Idyllic location, wide range of rooms for different budgets, great service, spotless room, WIFI working, pools and spa great. I can't believe this place! I have paid much more to stay in far worse places. The owner is to be HIGHLY commended for maintaining such a great space to enjoy the ocean view and public space above the bluffs. Can't wait to come back.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING in order and a great night's sleep.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DropAnchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

We had been traveling down the Big Sur from Monterey to Los Angeles and we were recomended to stay here.
What a fabulous hotel.
Our room was on the second floor facing the Ocean. What a fantastic view. we were maybe 10 yards from the beach with a large balcony and small grass area in between.
The room had everything. Nice soft beds, good size bathroom, Coffee making facility and fridge / minbar and a great view.
The focal point of the room was a large wood burning stove.
The restaraunt was good value for money with a wide choice of food. We decided to book a table when we checked in and are we glad we did, when we went to eat it was full, a very popular eating place.
We will certainly go back when the whale watching time comes around

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank martin_rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

During our 10 day vacation in California this was our favorite hotel.
We only stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed several.
Room with patio, fireplace and water view. We loved sitting around the outdoor firepits that are lit at 7PM (till 11 PM), and talking with the other guests about their travel experiences. The beds were so comfortable, and the staff was so friendly and helpful - they told us about a herd of elephant seals that could be seen a couple of miles up the road. Also, 2 miles south down the road is the Sea Chest restaurant in Cambria - the best meal we had in California. We hope to get back there someday!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing