We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location looking out to the ocean. Stunning in room fireplaces, which we just loved. Big beds, and great service :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon road trip, and the team were great and we found champagne in our room. We ate at the cavalier restaurant one night, great food, but watch out the portions are huge, if we'd have known we wouldn't have ordered a starter, yummy though, and great breakfasts too. Do check out the Hearst winery in San Simeon and sebstatians while you're there also delicious food ( again huge portions) got to see Hearst castle too! We loved the fire pits on the oceanfront great idea. We'd def recommend. The laundry there was handy too!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocolondonKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,233 - 2,239 of 2,901 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a trip down the coast. We specifically stayed in San Simeon in order to visit Hearst Castle. We arrived in the dead of night but found our room ready for us. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped. Whilst our room did not front the beach we could still hear the waves crashing, an awesome sound. The weather wasn't great when we were there but we still took an long walk along the beach. I was able to catch up on doing all our laundry - they have commercial washers and dryers - which was a bonus as we were travelling light and hotel laundry is expensive. My husband was bothered by a noise that seemed to come from the pipes between the rooms, he mentioned it to housekeeping and the front desk but I don't think anything was done about it. Other than that this was a good value stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We booked it based on the TA reviews when we were looking for a place to spend a night during our trip from SF to LA. The room was clean and roomy enough, but our request for ocean view sent with the reservation 2 months earlier was not met. The receptionist told us that the full ocean view rooms are not allowed for more than 2 people and we were travelling with our child. Nice touch: fires by the ocean lit by the staff at dusk, which allow for some mingling with other travellers.
A month before our trip we contacted the hotel about extending the stay by one day and they told us that they have no room. It turned out to be fortunate. We booked BW Fireside Inn at Cambria on Moonstone Beach and were thrilled. The hotel room was bigger and nicer even if it didnt have the view either, it was located right by a nicer beach, with a beautiful nature boardwalk and tidepools. The price was $10 more but included a much better than average continental breakfast. I would choose Fireside over Cavalier next time.
Restaurant at the Cavalier is very average.

Room Tip: Rooms with full ocean view are reserved for no more than 2 people per room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadiana2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is a nice place to stay it is right on the ocean. Very clean and pet friendly.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms about 30 feet from the bluffs at the ocean. Upstairs rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We took a car trip on the HWY1 from LA to SF. We decided to stop for a night at San Simeon - a place half way to SF. There are several must-sea attractions really close: don't miss Point Piedras Blancas - a place of elephant sea lions & Hearst Castle. So the location of the hotel is very good.
The hotel itself is very good: friendly service, good rooms, big selection of toiletries in the bathroom, coffee machine, mini bar - everything you need.
There is a good restaurant in the hotel - very tasty food & good service.
The views are fantastic (especially at the dusk)- the hotel is situated very close to the beach. In the eve hotel staff lights fireplaces and puts out chairs around them. it's very romantic.
Definitely a good place to stay on HWY1 on the way to SF or LA.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Excellent atmosphere and surrounds. Rooms with view. Great hotel to get away from the fast pace of life. Very comfortable beds made for rested mornings to explore the central coast and the neighboring communities. Centrally located, but not too close to a huge amount of chain businesses (which we prefer). Next time we will definitely try to book a suite to give us the ultimate coastal experience.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The proximity to the Hearst Castle was the reason we stayed here. The room was nice (we picked the ocean-front room) The adjoining restaurant was good. Though the hotel is a little dated, the room size was generous. The front desk staff were great. The kicker (and our highlight) was the evening fires along the beachfront of the property. We had a great time talking with other guests. Okay, the pillows were a little too soft for our liking, but we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jinxkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
639 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,986 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,198 reviews
3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £106 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, bedfinder AG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing