We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset views with fire pits over looking ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Well appointed rooms with fireplace. Beautiful grounds by ocean with fire pits lit at sunset. Very romantic

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deedee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,775)
There are newer reviews for Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great Hotel - was travelling with family and had had two rooms- both very spacious, clean and well equipted - much better than the last time I stayed here four years ago. Definately up its game. Arrived late - but in time for the beach fires- wonderful.

Restarant much better than I remembered and though very busy the staff were great especially in respect of my 15 month old nephew.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning on a visit to Hearst Castle and Cambria - great stop off on that drive from San Francisco to LA ( & vice versa). would have stayed longer if had the time - as plenty of different things to around the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007solotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Great price, nice hotel room and walkway to the beach...no air conditioning but it was in the 50s...and that was late August! Ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast...very busy on a Sunday am but good food and service....would def stay here again if making a return trip to Hearst Castle..

    • Value
    • Service
Thank cosmeticscrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

It was my first time driving on US1 through Big Sur and had now idea what to expect.. This Best Western is the best one that I haver ever stayed in. I found it to be very clean, very quiet, spaciuos, and it had a very nice bed. Great shower. I have to say that THE nicest woman on earth (besides my mother, of course) is at this hotel reception. I would definetly stay here again. Restaurant is OK, maybe you should try a place were the locals go.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalifangmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon road trip, and the team were great and we found champagne in our room. We ate at the cavalier restaurant one night, great food, but watch out the portions are huge, if we'd have known we wouldn't have ordered a starter, yummy though, and great breakfasts too. Do check out the Hearst winery in San Simeon and sebstatians while you're there also delicious food ( again huge portions) got to see Hearst castle too! We loved the fire pits on the oceanfront great idea. We'd def recommend. The laundry there was handy too!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cocolondonKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a trip down the coast. We specifically stayed in San Simeon in order to visit Hearst Castle. We arrived in the dead of night but found our room ready for us. The room was large, comfortable and well equipped. Whilst our room did not front the beach we could still hear the waves crashing, an awesome sound. The weather wasn't great when we were there but we still took an long walk along the beach. I was able to catch up on doing all our laundry - they have commercial washers and dryers - which was a bonus as we were travelling light and hotel laundry is expensive. My husband was bothered by a noise that seemed to come from the pipes between the rooms, he mentioned it to housekeeping and the front desk but I don't think anything was done about it. Other than that this was a good value stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We booked it based on the TA reviews when we were looking for a place to spend a night during our trip from SF to LA. The room was clean and roomy enough, but our request for ocean view sent with the reservation 2 months earlier was not met. The receptionist told us that the full ocean view rooms are not allowed for more than 2 people and we were travelling with our child. Nice touch: fires by the ocean lit by the staff at dusk, which allow for some mingling with other travellers.
A month before our trip we contacted the hotel about extending the stay by one day and they told us that they have no room. It turned out to be fortunate. We booked BW Fireside Inn at Cambria on Moonstone Beach and were thrilled. The hotel room was bigger and nicer even if it didnt have the view either, it was located right by a nicer beach, with a beautiful nature boardwalk and tidepools. The price was $10 more but included a much better than average continental breakfast. I would choose Fireside over Cavalier next time.
Restaurant at the Cavalier is very average.

Room Tip: Rooms with full ocean view are reserved for no more than 2 people per room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadiana2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
865 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,978 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £118 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing