We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location & service. Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location & service. Very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

Wow, when are you ever pleasantly surprised these days?
We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cavalier and from
the minute we stepped into the lobby, to opening the door to our room, it just kept getting better. The hotel property is large and spacious with unobstructed views of the pacific ocean and gorgeous sunsets. VERY pet friendly. The rooms are comfortable with higher end linens and very soft bath towels. Nice and quiet too. We stayed in room 250 that had a fireplace which was cozy and a very large balcony. They also provided
binoculars which was a nice touch. We actually extended a night which we've never done before, if that tells you anything.
We will return again, with our cocker spaniel in tow next time
for another great vacation.
Thanks to everyone at the Cavalier for exceeding our expectations!

  • Liked — stunning location
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayleandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    790
    207
    78
    20
See reviews for
610
1,447
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

Stayed here for one night in mid January with my girlfriend on our trip from LA to San Francisco along the Pacific Coast Highway. Hotel is along the PCH, with other hotels in the area. Check in was easy and fast. The lady at the counter gave us some good information about the bonfires that would be lit on the beach at night, and information about the area. We were on the second floor with an ocean view/
balcony. There were no elevators that we could see, so we had to carry our bags up the stairs, not that big of a problem for us, but might be a problem for some people carrying heavier bags or seniors. The room was a decent size. There was a musty (damp wood) smell to the room though. Probably due to being so close to the ocean. It reminded me a lot of a Vermont cabin scent. Got used to the scent after a couple of minutes. The room also had a wood burning fireplace. The hotel is only 4 miles south of Hearst Castle. After returning from the castle tour, we ended up going to the restaurant located on the hotel property for dinner. The food and service were good. Afterwards we walked to the bonfires, but it was too cold and foggy that there was no one else on the beach. Then turned in and started a fire in the in room fireplace. My girlfriend was disappointed that the gym didn't open till 9AM. We ate breakfast at the restaurant on the property as they didn't have a complimentary breakfast. The hotel did have free wired Internet located on the desk/work area. The room also had a mini-bar with a fridge and snacks. I used the mini-fridge to keep my own bottled soda and water cool over night. They also provided binoculars so you could see if you could spot any whales. The room had an oversized safe, which could fit a backpack. Stored my laptop and camera equipment while away from the room. Overall a wonderful stay, though a little pricey. Would be nice if it was under $100.

  • Liked — Ocean view, wood burning firepace, bonfire pits
  • Disliked — Musty (damp wood) smell, gym/fitness center opens at 9AM
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JR_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2008

Loved everything about this hotel. I stayed in a ocean front room with a balcony and fireplace, and it was great. Room service is excellent, great food and good prices.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank barlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

Stayed one night on our way from SF to Santa Barbara for the holidays. Had lovely oceanview room with fireplace; nice fire pits outside infront of ocean for warmth and friendly chat with fellow travelers. We would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Large room with fireplace and free internet
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2007

We stayed here for one night after a long drive from San Francisco. The room was large and quiet. The beds were comfortable. There was a good stocked mini bar, including a small fridge. We had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant before heading to Hearst Castle. Hotel is right on beach and also has pool. Good place to stay if visiting Hearst Castle. We found it a very comfortable place to rest during our road trip.

  • Liked — Room size, close to the beach
  • Disliked — lugging suitcase up stairs
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareBear7773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2007

I stayed here for just one night with some friends while on a charter bus trip. On the slightly negative side, the pillows were a bit too squishy for me, and the coffee machine didn't work right and made a mess all over the sink. Also, the on-site restaurant was quite mediocre and I have a separate review about that. No gift shop on premises either.
However, there are lots of positives: nice room, cable TV, good vanity area, decent bathroom, full length mirror, alarm clock, not too much noise, and a lovely view of the ocean. You can walk just a few yards down to the rocky beach from the hotel. Also, you can make a short drive up to the Hearst Castle visitors center and then to the castle tour buses, or see the elephant seals in January when they arrive at San Simeon. Also close to Cambria.
We were able to get decent free coffee in the lobby.

  • Liked — Ocean views
  • Disliked — Some problems with room
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caltravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

The room was average. We did not have an ocean view, nor a room with a fireplace. But, the place was clean and the staff very nice. Unfortunately, we had fog for our stay, but I've been in the area before (staying on Moonstone), so know what an incredible view this place has when the weather is clearer. The firepits were very nice at night to enjoy and listen to the ocean. The restaurant had good food and the servers were incredibly nice. This hotel has so much open land space, it is very easy to relax. The only problem we had was the sound level on the TV - very low, making it difficult to hear the free movies you can check out at the front desk. I would not hesitate to stay here again, but think I would upgrade to an oceanview room.

  • Liked — Location and firepits
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing