We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a nice vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
bay area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a nice vacation”
Reviewed 22 March 2008

Was one of the best times we had on the pacific coast. The resort is in a beautiful location. We asked for a OceanView room which was just perfect. It is a nice place to stay and relax and go to nearby places like Hearst Castle, Cambria, Moonstone Beach, etc. Upper level ocean view rooms are less expensive than ocean front rooms but still have a great view. We will surely go back to this place when we can. Overall it turned out to be a great second honeymoon.

If driving at night or in bad weather to this place from bay area, it might be safe to take 101 S and CA 46, rather than CA 1 which is very curvy all the way till San Simeon.

Apart from the restaurant in this resort there are a lots of nice places to eat in and around cambria. We tried moonstone beach restaurant, wild ginger cafe and pizza parlor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank naavipans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    830
    222
    82
    27
See reviews for
643
1,540
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Great hotel. Very clean and spacious rooms. Upscale room and amenities. We had a great stay, in fact, we extended our stay because we liked it so much. We ate at the restaurant because it was there. The restaurant was the only downside of our stay. Food was overpriced and mediocre. Very friendly staff though. We will surely stay there again, I hope they can straighten out the restaurant. The nightly bonfires down by the water put this place over the top in our book. We called the BW 800 number and could not get a room. Hung up with them and called the hotel directly and got in.........

  • Liked — Being next to the ocean
  • Disliked — the restaurant. expensive for what you got..........
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Robmicgrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

I went to the Best Western for my birthday weekend and everything from the weather, to the room, to the Hearst Castle tour was amazing.

They do not have free breakfast, but we ate many times at their restaurant. I thought the food was good. However we learned that the town closes up pretty early. We learned that the hard way.

Our room was amazing and it was awesome to have a fireplace. The staff was great and we had no problems with check in. We had an ocean front view on the first floor, so we could walk straight out to the beach. We did have some trouble with our lock for the door, but they fixed it up right away.

I clearly do not have anything bad to say about this hotel or my stay.

  • Liked — Fireplace, Ocean front view, bed, pillows, coffee, mini bar
  • Disliked — Gets a little warm and not a lot of ventiliation in the room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kasey2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Wow, when are you ever pleasantly surprised these days?
We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cavalier and from
the minute we stepped into the lobby, to opening the door to our room, it just kept getting better. The hotel property is large and spacious with unobstructed views of the pacific ocean and gorgeous sunsets. VERY pet friendly. The rooms are comfortable with higher end linens and very soft bath towels. Nice and quiet too. We stayed in room 250 that had a fireplace which was cozy and a very large balcony. They also provided
binoculars which was a nice touch. We actually extended a night which we've never done before, if that tells you anything.
We will return again, with our cocker spaniel in tow next time
for another great vacation.
Thanks to everyone at the Cavalier for exceeding our expectations!

  • Liked — stunning location
  • Disliked — the restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GayleandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Stayed here for one night in mid January with my girlfriend on our trip from LA to San Francisco along the Pacific Coast Highway. Hotel is along the PCH, with other hotels in the area. Check in was easy and fast. The lady at the counter gave us some good information about the bonfires that would be lit on the beach at night, and information about the area. We were on the second floor with an ocean view/
balcony. There were no elevators that we could see, so we had to carry our bags up the stairs, not that big of a problem for us, but might be a problem for some people carrying heavier bags or seniors. The room was a decent size. There was a musty (damp wood) smell to the room though. Probably due to being so close to the ocean. It reminded me a lot of a Vermont cabin scent. Got used to the scent after a couple of minutes. The room also had a wood burning fireplace. The hotel is only 4 miles south of Hearst Castle. After returning from the castle tour, we ended up going to the restaurant located on the hotel property for dinner. The food and service were good. Afterwards we walked to the bonfires, but it was too cold and foggy that there was no one else on the beach. Then turned in and started a fire in the in room fireplace. My girlfriend was disappointed that the gym didn't open till 9AM. We ate breakfast at the restaurant on the property as they didn't have a complimentary breakfast. The hotel did have free wired Internet located on the desk/work area. The room also had a mini-bar with a fridge and snacks. I used the mini-fridge to keep my own bottled soda and water cool over night. They also provided binoculars so you could see if you could spot any whales. The room had an oversized safe, which could fit a backpack. Stored my laptop and camera equipment while away from the room. Overall a wonderful stay, though a little pricey. Would be nice if it was under $100.

  • Liked — Ocean view, wood burning firepace, bonfire pits
  • Disliked — Musty (damp wood) smell, gym/fitness center opens at 9AM
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JR_in_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, CA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Loved everything about this hotel. I stayed in a ocean front room with a balcony and fireplace, and it was great. Room service is excellent, great food and good prices.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank barlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

Stayed one night on our way from SF to Santa Barbara for the holidays. Had lovely oceanview room with fireplace; nice fire pits outside infront of ocean for warmth and friendly chat with fellow travelers. We would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Large room with fireplace and free internet
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MJ_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
862 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing