We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here in mid November, 2012 during stormy weather. We were taking the Hearst Castle tours, so after carefully reading reviews here on T.A., we chose this place and now it's on our short list of personal favorites. We are simple road trip type travelers and like reasonably priced, comfortable, quiet rooms - a view is a bonus, but not necessary. This is not a high-end hotel, but met and exceeded our expectations.
We had a second floor ocean view, king bed room. It felt roomy but cozy, with a very comfortable bed and a nice seating area by the slider window next to the corner fireplace. There is a flatscreen TV and free wi-fi in your room. We loved the sweeping views from our covered balcony - it was lightly raining, but we stayed dry. We took an evening oceanside walk and enjoyed visiting with other guests at one of the outdoor fireplaces.
We had dinner at the resort's restaurant and found it to be good. There is no free breakfast provided by the resort, but there is free coffee in the cozy lobby all day.
Overall, this is a great place to stay, for couples or for families. Close to Hearst Castle and other nearby sights. For us, the extra $$ for our ocean view room was worthy (the sunset view is amazing), but the non-view rooms looked nice enough and did have at least partial ocean views from their windows (no balconies). The front desk staff was very friendly, always a plus.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrippingtheRoad81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 2,857 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel is a perfect getaway for families or for a romantic getaway. The amenities are top notch and the service is excellent.
The ocean is right outside your door! We went as a family getaway and there are many things to keep the kids busy. You are so close to many sights, san simeon, the elephant seals, pismo beach , Morro bay....the list is endless. The beach in frot of the hotel is rocky but it is a treasure trove full of shells and tide pools. Our daughter was a tireless searcher for just the right shell! There is a restuarant on site that is moderate in price and the food is good. Overall, a nice place to stay! Just book early!

Room Tip: There are suites that are on the bluff that are nice. Some rooms come with fireplaces as well. Prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveler044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We had a large ocean front room with all the amenities of a hotel. Room service , restaurant on premises, convenient to Hearst Castle, walkway along the coast. Observed surfers tho we don't surf ourselves.

Room Tip: Did not see rooms other than oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rae34_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This place was great. Fire pits outside, small fireplace inside, balcony, beautiful grounds, comfortable beds, Keurig coffee maker. I loved everything about this place. We saw guys paddle surfing and dolphins were swimming around them. Great for a walk along the beach. Short drive to Hearst Castle, which was also amazing.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Exceptional property just located off the Pacific Ocean along HWY1. You actually can fall sleep listening to the ocean waves. At night, the hotel set up fire pits on the beach. Though I am not here during the peak season, I still love it a lot. Very tranquil, peaceful. A great way to escape the hustle and bustle of the city and whatever you have on your mind. Also, it's affordable compared to other beachfront properties. I can't say how much I love it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We visited California last October and needed an overnight stop near Hearst Castle. This hotel was perfectly positioned for sunset views (which we arrived in good time for) - after which they lit the firepits - and proximity for an early tour at the castle the following morning. We upgraded and had a fire in the room which was very spacious but no AC so don't know what it would be like in summer. Great tea/coffee provisions and all very clean - bed looked brand new. Easy to check in and out and parking on site. Just perfect for what we required with a restaurant on site too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank condenastbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent one night here in preparation for a visit to Hearst Castle the next day. The motel is right on the ocean. While you pay extra for rooms facing the beach, most rooms seem to have a view of the water. The rooms were quite nice and the grounds were well kept. There is a short, gravel, walking/jogging track on the grounds adjacent to the shoreline. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a very good Mexican restaurant within walking distance. All in all, it was a very nice place to spend a night.

Room Tip: You can pay a little extra for a room that faces the ocean, but if our room is an example, most room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMCM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
537 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
919 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,094 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £110 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing