We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We came up from L.A. to spend some shore time near our daughter. She suggested this wonderful place just minutes away. We thought the room was well appointed, the K cup coffee machine was a novelty at the time and I enjoyed the amenities, robes, hot tub, sounds of the shore. Will go back again and again. We had room service and a fire in the fireplace that evening, then the next morning on my walk, a rainbow appeared. Then we had breakfast at their restaurant the next morn. All good, refreshing, polite staff. Love love love.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,728 - 1,734 of 2,809 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stay at this hotel 2 to 4 times a year. The hotel does pretty good, the place needs better upkeep. The hotel staff does pretty good most of the time. The restaurant night staff had a problem with us showing up to a near empty restaurant without reservations, but it was nothing that a great room service waiter couldn't fix. Great views and great beach access.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This is a charming old but fully renovated property in a perfect location. Easy (5 minute) walk to civic center and museums, major shopping, and famous China Town. Bus right in front goes to Golden Gate Park. Wine and cheese every evening is a great addition. Full breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JPOrrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

If you are staying in San Simeon, you should stay at this Best Western and, if you can, get a room on the second floor in the building out on the bluff. The beach is gorgeous and at night the staff lights fires in three outdoor fireplaces where visitors gather round listening to the waves, sharing stories and drinking wine (if you bring some). We had a great time on a brief stop here on our way down the Central Coast. Cambria isn't too far up the road for a decent bite to eat and you're close to Hearst Castle from here.

Room Tip: If you want something a little extra special, get a room on the second floor in the building out by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boulderkir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Best Western is the top choice in a small town. A restaurant adjoins.
The views are very nice because the location is so perfect, on a short bluff above the ocean. Easy beach access on the north. The hotel keeps a couple of outdoor fireplaces going from sunset to late and they make an excellent place to meet your neighbors or have a nightcap. The staff is quite outgoing and helpful.
The swimming pool was drained and inoperable in July 2013. Internet service was out. It was in the upper 70s and this hotel has no air conditioning and only a small back window for ventilation, so it stayed warm until 10 pm.
This Best Western offers no free breakfast, but the house restaurant does a creditable job with good service and it is inexpensive.

Room Tip: Get closer to the ocean, farther from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus over memorial day weekend and was pleasantly surprised. While the hotel is older you can tell it's very well maintained and offers a lot of little extra touches that I thought were wonderful.

We stayed in an ocean front room and it was great, we had a little seating area on our patio and could enjoy a bottle of wine and watch the waves and the wind surfers. Every night they also have 3 fire pits on the property that you can sit by and enjoy. We didn't partake, but it was a nice touch. Our room was a nice size and had two big cushy chairs facing the patio so if it was too cold outside you could sit inside and get cozy next to the fire. Our room also was equipped with a pair of binoculars, again very nice touch. The only thing I didn't like about the room was the table next to the big cushy chairs was a full height kitchen table. So when you sat in the cushy chairs your chin was on the table. I would have preferred a shorter side table or small coffee table. Toiletries also included nail polish remover and make up remover which was nice, Outside they had paper towel stations along the walls to wipe off the morning fog from your car.

The restaurant onsite is good and decent prices. The service is friendly as well. There is a liqueur store across the street for wine etc. If we ever went back to the area again we would definitely stay here. Was a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are wonderful. Downstairs has larger patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbumpkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This might be one of the dearer places to stay in San Simeon but it was worth it. Virtually all rooms have some sort of sea view with the sun setting right in front of you - a lovely way to end the day. Rooms are huge and warm - the silent heating system really does work. Big comfortable bed. Large bathroom with excellent supply of toiletries including mouthwash, foot balm, and refresher face towel. We didn't use either pool but others did and said it was good. Dinner in restaurant was very good. The outdoor fires were fun to sit around at night. Oh and just down the road (north) is a large seal colony - noisy, active and worth a quick look at. The hotel staff were helpful an friendly.

Room Tip: You don't need a top price room for a sea view - most have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helrus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
73.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
74.1 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
71.5 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
74.4 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,033 reviews
76.6 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £118 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing