We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Turlock, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed in a king room with an ocean view and fireplace. The room was newly carpeted, with a beautiful view and was very comfortable. The evening fires that are lit by the beach were an excellent touch. We stayed 2 nights and were very, very happy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    792
    209
    78
    20
See reviews for
611
1,451
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel was cozy and clean for a good price. A refrigerator would have been nice, but the in-room fireplace and really comfy king sized bed were great. Beautiful location right at the beach. There were fireplaces on the beach provided by the hotel with chairs around them that they kept lit until 11:30 for guests to enjoy, which was a nice touch. We didn't eat at the hotel, but there was room service and a restaurant offered. Only 2-3 miles up the road were some ocean from restaurants that all looked great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is right on the beach in San Simeon, just a few minutes from the Hearst Castle. At night there are bonfires on the beach and during the day the views on the beach are incredible.

We had three people, so our room had two beds - one a king, the other a queen, plus there was a small sitting area and desk. The beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were both spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was on the second floor, there are exterior doors and no elevators, so if you need ground floor access let them know when you book otherwise you'll need ot be able to carry your bags up a flight of stairs.

This is a nice hotel, but the location tips it over the top. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

On our recent trip down the Central California coast we stayed at 4 different hotels & 1 cabin. This hotel was the best. I loved the wet bar, the extra goodies in the personal supplies like the nail polish removal and the touch lamps! We had an ocean view room that was huge! The only disappointment was the fire pellets?/compressed rounds for the fireplace did not burn well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We've been vacationing here for almost 15 years - even had a late Christmas here when my husband was out of town for the holiday. There are rooms that overlook the ocean - others that are closer to parking lot and restaurant. Of course, the parking lot rooms are cheaper but are just as clean as the ocean view rooms. When you are away from home, how much time do you really spend in the hotel room? But we love the rooms that sit on the cliffs - have real fireplaces and an awesome view. We crank up the fire and open the slider and go to bed. This is where we go to get away. If we want to do the Cambria tourist trip, we stay at Best Western Fireside Inn. Like others, Cavalier is where I prefer to be. It's nice there is a restaurant on premises. If you just want to hang and rest, don't have to go search for food. And you can check Vandenberg AFB rocket launch schedule to see if you get lucky and get a rocket launch.

Room Tip: If you get the rooms overlooking the ocean, leave the kids at home and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raebanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent one night at the Best Western Plus - Cavalier. The hotel is right on the beach so watch the sunset and then enjoy some wine by one of the three bonfire pits. In the morning take a walk on the beach and gather some of the moon stones scattered all over the beach. Our room was spacious, beds were comfortable. Bathroom area was a little small but overall the room was great. Comfortable beds, good location - close to Hearst Castle and Moon Stone Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcandndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I really don't want to give out my secret 'cause it is already difficult to get an open weekend. But, if you go to the coast, this is the place to stay. You get 5 star experience for a 3 star cost. Need I say more?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing