We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Front Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Romantic beach front hotel in San Simeon. Good Service and very nice room facing the ocean with a fire place. Great sleeping with slider open. Nice restaurant next door and plenty five miles away in Cambria.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,521 - 1,527 of 2,858 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Right on the beach. (Easier stair access just at the edge of the property where there is a public parking area.) Evening bonfires. Good view. Nice rooms. Some restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Price seemed a little high, but it is right on the beach... There is a nice porch with rockers and table so you can sit out and enjoy the evening. Fireplace in room. No fridge or microwave because there is a mini-bar. No complimentary breakfast unless you do a package deal. Appears to be dog friendly - we do not have one but saw quiet a few on the premises.

Room Tip: Pay extra and treat yourself to a view room. I personally like the view from the second floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed at the ocean view room for 2 nights. They have a fireplace in the room! The bed is so comfortable, that I had a "difficult" time trying to get out of bed. I had never stayed in a hotel that provide such a range of in-room toiletries! They even provide binoculars for whale watching! Very thoughtful! The mini bar is well stocked, with reasonable pricing. Bring some sea salt along, they have a clean bath tub to soak in. The rocking chair at the patio with an awesome ocean view. It would be perfect if they can provide a microwave in the room, or place it at the reception area for the guest to use. I had tried the salad & buffalo wings at the restaurant next door, it was good.
However, I do not agree with the 100% smoke free statement. I'm staying on the 2nd level, and the guest staying on the ground floor smoke at their patio. I've to shut the sliding glass door at the patio every now & then. It's really a shame when I can get so much fresh air by the ocean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_s0l0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

good bw .. fun location for ocean front view and atmosphere, all the needed information on the Hearst Castle and reservations , great location for your visit to the Castle. Very clean and good restaurant, food was tasty and the service was excellent

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was only there one night however I will return! The sounds of the breaking surf was great and seeing the elephant seals on the beach gave us plenty of photo opps. I 'm in a wheelchair and found the hand cap accessible room quite accessible.

Room was clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: Closer to the ocean the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Amenities, location, dining, value -- your best experience is in the ocean view rooms -- recommend & good value overall. I do not have more to type than that but the error message says 200 characters required :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent motel. Great lawn above the beach, although getting to the beach itself is a difficult climb down a steep bluff, not recommended for any but the most agile. They light fireplaces on that lawn at night which make it really cozy.

Their restaurant is very good also.

While you are there be sure to drive 5 miles north and see the elephant seals on the beach!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
541 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
919 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,098 reviews
3 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £111 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing