We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice vacay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice vacay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had an issue checking in as our room reservation was misunderstood but the wonderful staff worked it out for us after a tiny fight between my fella and myself. It all worked out. We love it there. The dog got to enjoy the beach and watching him enjoy made us at ease. The room was great, the fridge, the coffee machine, the tub, the hot water right away, the reminders to conserve, the parking, the grounds, the location. We just really love it there so close to Cambria and your beach is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 791gabrielleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,493
    779
    202
    78
    20
See reviews for
599
1,430
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked an ocean front room with 1 king bed, and fireplace, and were situated on the 2nd floor. The sits at the edge of the bluff and the view of the ocean was simply outstanding. There are 3 fireplaces on the bluff overlooking the beach which the staff lights each night at 8pm. If a view is what you want, this is definitely the place.
I only have 2 comments for improvements. (1) The balconies could use an update to glass fronts, rather than wood railings, which block the view. (2) The carpet is old and requires updating.

Room Tip: Inquire about having a room on the upper floors which provide better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiangal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel on the coast. We had a balcony off the room which the dogs loved and it was nice to have the 4 lawn chairs to sit on the balcony and relax. The room was a good size with a table and desk. The beds were decent and the room was clean. The fire pits and seating areas near the beach were a nice addition. There were great dog walking areas too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

First overnight visit to the Cavalier. It was the best. We had a room with beautiful view. Could sit on the deck and watch seals, pelicans. and sharks. The hotel even provided binoculars. The onsite restaurant was super. We will be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centerville, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a long drive through the mountains on twisting and turning roads, what a nice relaxing stay at this hotel right on the ocean. Our room faced the ocean where each night the staff lit fires in the firepits on the cliffs overlooking the ocean where we could either sit by the fires or by our fireplaces in our room or on our balconies and watch the ocean. Shopping in the nearby town in the lovely shops and many eating places make this the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a short visit, (1 Night) but the room was clean, the restaurant food for both dinner and breakfast was excellent. We would recommend this location to our family and friends. The hotel had fire pits on the beach directly in front of our rooms and we enjoyed the ocean breeze and the view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so nice! The location is perfect and we were given a room with unobstructed views of the ocean from a very large balcony- it was stunning! Could see dolphins swimming and there was a deer passing though in front of our very eyes! The room was lovely- large comfy bed, separate seating area, wood burning fire- which was so lovely! The restaurant was really nice, food reasonably priced and very good service! There was free wifi, very good mini bar stock, bath robes, a very good selection of toiletries and the parking was FREE! Parking spaces right outside the rooms. The only reason I have rated it as a 4 star, was that the decor was a bit dated (pattern furniture and carpet in front of sink etc). Would have loved to have stayed at this hotel for longer and would definitely return to it!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_ali_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing