We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location on the Ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night on our way to see Hearst Castle. Location is great to visit Hearst Castle which is just a couple miles down the road. We selected the ocean view rooms which had a great view of the Pacific. Overall the room was nice and sleeping was very comfortable. We had two chairs in our room with a small fireplace. The facility has two small pools but with the cool weather we did not use them. At night the hotel sets up fire pits to enjoy the sunset and the Pacific nights. I was very surprised that the hotel had provided a bottle of champagne for my wife's birthday. That was an unexpected nice touch.

The hotel has an adjoining restaurant that serve's good food. Not fine dining and a little expensive for what you get but your options in the area are very limited. Very convenient.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Second Floor Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    790
    207
    78
    20
See reviews for
610
1,447
65
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Found trash and old apple under the bed. Light fixture was broken hanging from the electrical wire. Bathtub/ shower did not drain. No air conditioning, room was hot. Unable to open drapes so one window was not able to get air into room. We quit staying at Best Western hotels 30+ years ago and Will definitely not stay at Best Western hotels in the future either Personnel were pleasant and knowledgeable. Beds were comfortable..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tereasa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent Hotel for a few nights stay, clean comfortable great pillows! Queen size beds are true queen size, fire pits on the beack are lit each evening bring marshmallows for smores and chat with the tourists ours were from Finland. ask for a room on the second floor though otherwise you will hear the stomp stomp if you are unlucky like us and get the room under the stairs( only two levels) also request the ocean view, you will sleep like a baby! avoid the Cavalier restaurant though, the music or shall I say muzak reminded me of a nursing home-too bad because the food was good...go to town just a few miles away to the Sows Ear, blue indigo, Linns or Sea Chest(cash only on the beach) it was fun and locals go their repeatedly, it was good but not amazing as others say...lobster pot pie at sows ear was very tasty and the lamb was the best I ever had! avoid the hamburger at Hearst Castle, I do not believe this is grass fed Hearst beef it was awful! Do go to see the elephant seals it was the best!!! and wear sneakers if you walk on moonstone beach...ouchy!! otherwise too many stones and rocks but fun to collect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 419cynthiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Very nice room/hotel - clean/safe. Beautiful views of the ocean, beach access, wonderful place for a run. Make sure you take advantage of the luxury fan in the closet. If you are spending the night and want to eat after 6:00 you should make a reservation for dinner at the restaurant on the property as they fill up fast and there aren't many choices to pick from.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 38Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had an issue checking in as our room reservation was misunderstood but the wonderful staff worked it out for us after a tiny fight between my fella and myself. It all worked out. We love it there. The dog got to enjoy the beach and watching him enjoy made us at ease. The room was great, the fridge, the coffee machine, the tub, the hot water right away, the reminders to conserve, the parking, the grounds, the location. We just really love it there so close to Cambria and your beach is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 791gabrielleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked an ocean front room with 1 king bed, and fireplace, and were situated on the 2nd floor. The sits at the edge of the bluff and the view of the ocean was simply outstanding. There are 3 fireplaces on the bluff overlooking the beach which the staff lights each night at 8pm. If a view is what you want, this is definitely the place.
I only have 2 comments for improvements. (1) The balconies could use an update to glass fronts, rather than wood railings, which block the view. (2) The carpet is old and requires updating.

Room Tip: Inquire about having a room on the upper floors which provide better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadiangal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel on the coast. We had a balcony off the room which the dogs loved and it was nice to have the 4 lawn chairs to sit on the balcony and relax. The room was a good size with a table and desk. The beds were decent and the room was clean. The fire pits and seating areas near the beach were a nice addition. There were great dog walking areas too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,456 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing