We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Surf Motel(San Simeon)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,963)
Filter reviews
2,963 results
Traveller rating
1,694
894
248
94
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,694
894
248
94
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontrocking chairsoceanfront roomwood burning fireplacehearst castleroom servicemini bareach eveningkeurig coffee makeron site restaurantwatch the sunsetelephant sealsstayed longerthe pacific oceanhear the wavescentral coastsecond floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,458 - 1,463 of 2,963 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Check in staff advised that we were being upgraded to a unit with a fireplace....however it turns out it was above the laundry facilities and not a upgrade by any means. hotel is dated, smelled like smoke. All in all a disappointment for a supposedly ocean view hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank ROBERT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped here travelling up from LA to Napa Valley. Great location with beautiful ocean view. Service was great - hotel forwarded a lost shirt to Las Vegas(sadly on arrival, it was not the shirt we actually lost, but the gesture was appreciated). The beach fires were a great touch, and the rooms very well equipped.

Room Tip: There are rooms with ocean views which are probably a little nicer to look out from
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobTheWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night on our way to see Hearst Castle. Location is great to visit Hearst Castle which is just a couple miles down the road. We selected the ocean view rooms which had a great view of the Pacific. Overall the room was nice and sleeping was very comfortable. We had two chairs in our room with a small fireplace. The facility has two small pools but with the cool weather we did not use them. At night the hotel sets up fire pits to enjoy the sunset and the Pacific nights. I was very surprised that the hotel had provided a bottle of champagne for my wife's birthday. That was an unexpected nice touch.

The hotel has an adjoining restaurant that serve's good food. Not fine dining and a little expensive for what you get but your options in the area are very limited. Very convenient.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Second Floor Ocean View
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayV555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Found trash and old apple under the bed. Light fixture was broken hanging from the electrical wire. Bathtub/ shower did not drain. No air conditioning, room was hot. Unable to open drapes so one window was not able to get air into room. We quit staying at Best Western hotels 30+ years ago and Will definitely not stay at Best Western hotels in the future either Personnel were pleasant and knowledgeable. Beds were comfortable..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Tereasa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent Hotel for a few nights stay, clean comfortable great pillows! Queen size beds are true queen size, fire pits on the beack are lit each evening bring marshmallows for smores and chat with the tourists ours were from Finland. ask for a room on the second floor though otherwise you will hear the stomp stomp if you are unlucky like us and get the room under the stairs( only two levels) also request the ocean view, you will sleep like a baby! avoid the Cavalier restaurant though, the music or shall I say muzak reminded me of a nursing home-too bad because the food was good...go to town just a few miles away to the Sows Ear, blue indigo, Linns or Sea Chest(cash only on the beach) it was fun and locals go their repeatedly, it was good but not amazing as others say...lobster pot pie at sows ear was very tasty and the lamb was the best I ever had! avoid the hamburger at Hearst Castle, I do not believe this is grass fed Hearst beef it was awful! Do go to see the elephant seals it was the best!!! and wear sneakers if you walk on moonstone beach...ouchy!! otherwise too many stones and rocks but fun to collect!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 419cynthiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews