We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was in a great spot on the beach and close to hearst castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“was in a great spot on the beach and close to hearst castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for one night and wish we were there longer. We got a partial ocean view and i thought it was amazing. We could have gotten a oceanfront room but didn't want to pay so much extra. I was shocked at how nice the view was. They actually had the mini fridge fully stocked and snacks in a drawer( all for a price of coarse) which was very nice when we didn't want to leave the hotel. The room was nice and clean. The hotel has 3 fire pits outside where they light them when the sun goes down. Its the perfect location to watch the sunset or watch the surfers out in the water. Nice and close to hearst castle. maybe 10 minutes if that
The only down part was we called to the front desk that night to ask for a fire starter kit they offered and after 45 minutes of no one coming we called and cancelled and told them to forget about it. There are also no elevators, not that we needed it but if we did have a larger suitcase it would be nicer that carrying it up the stairs.
I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: get at least a partial ocean view room, definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,495
    780
    202
    78
    20
See reviews for
601
1,431
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is way overpriced and the front desk was okay, however, the room was nice as well as the view. There is no fridge or microwave in the room, and the bathroom lacks a vent. The porch area was very nice as the porch furniture was comfortable. The view of the Pacific is incredible. Make sure to research pricing on your own before booking. I called to make a reservation on the phone to see if I could obtain a better price than I could find online, but the Best Western rep said the best available rate was over $100 more than the rate I found. When I informed her of the rate I was looking at on my computer, she then found that rate on her side and booked me for the lower rate. If I had not called her out on this I would have paid an extra $100+ for an already expensive hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank jalvanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this beachside hotel, pretty nice for a BW. The walk down the beach at sunset was beautiful...waves, driftwood, and fire pits. Yes. Fire pits. The hotel had three pits for their guests with firewood to enjoy the evening.
We left our battery charger but didn't realize it until after a wine tour stop. We called and yes they found it in our room...we drove back and was so thankful for their service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PamLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a clean, nice Best Western, but the location is spectacular! The Pacific Ocean was in our backyard...my husband and I walked along the beach in the evening and morning we stayed here. And it's a very short drive to Hearst castle...also a magnificent sight. Worth staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is very clean. The service is excellent -- everyone was friendly and helpful. The location can't be beat for the area. Every night we slept with our balcony doors open to listen to the ocean. Perfect for people traveling with or without a dog. Strong wifi. Good food at the on site restaurant. Good room service. The rooms are dated, but if you expect that going in you will be happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: Not worth it unless you get an ocean view or ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

An incredible property, with cozy fireplaces in the rooms, firepits on the property near the beach. Beautiful Ocean views, less than a mile to Elephant seals on the beach. The restaurant was 5 star!! We would definitely return at some point in the future, to re-live this awesome experience!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Condy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

if you are looking for a wonderful oceanside getaway, this is the place to stay. very nice rooms and fantastic staff. we would go back again. great value and great people. the walk along the beach was wonderful and the evening bonfires at the beach are a great way to meet other travelers. very family friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#12 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,263 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Property: Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing