We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavalier Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent location at the southern end of Highway 1 through Big Sur. It is right on the beach with views of sea otters and sea lions. Fireplace in room with the wood provided. Outside "fire pits" with wood provided and lit every night. Checked out other hotels in this area and this one is the best.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Orrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 2,802 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

In California there are a 1,000 hotels near or on the ocean. So please if you are looking for a 5 star hotel near the ocean this is not your place. The hotel seems to thrive on and do very well with one night pop in and outs. The ocean views are a bit of a questions as the rooms face north to south, however you can hear the ocean from your door and it is only a small walk away. The rooms are basic and have wi fi. You have to have wi fi in that part of the country your not going to get very good service. The beds are hard the rooms are little tight, but for a one night, mayyybee, two night stay(s) this hotel is perfect. Another amenity this hotel offers is quietness and relaxation. My biggest complaint is the front desk and not having extended a more comprehensive breakfast. They do have their own place you can sit down and order, but when most folks are getting up and going, finding the time to get ready, hit up a sit down and go does not seem to be in most itineraries. I do know if I came back to San Simeon I would keep this hotel in mind and we will be back. Enjoy your travels and please turn off the water when you brush your teeth:)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank airblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were a group of 21 travelling on Harleys, and stayed at this property the night before visiting Hearst Castle. We had a ground floor ocean front room, and were very pleased - others had 2nd floor rooms with no views were not quite so pleased.

Quite a big property with two pools to cool off (great in the height of summer), great views over the ocean, and a very pleasant spot.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel had great location, staff and amenities but the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. I don't think I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends. In addition, the restaurant had poor service. We were seated and no one greeted us for 10 minutes to even ask if we wanted something to drink. So we ended leaving the restaurant and found another one down the street

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
3  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay! The ocean view room was spectacular! We loved how close to the beach we were! The rooms were very clean and nice. We also enjoyed the fire pits in the evening! The restaurant was fine. We found some nice places to eat a few minutes down the road in Cambria.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is a great spot for a quiet getaway. Beach front location and has some nice amenities. Nightly fire pits operated by hotel staff, beach access, close to Cambria shopping and restaurants. Cambria offers several pet friendly restaurants as well. Very close to Hearst Castle and only 40 minutes to Paso Robles wine country. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank ribosomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent stay. Great view Would definitely stay again We watched whales from our room with binoculars provided. Chairs and bed very comfortable, Lighting was good. Place was very quiet. The restaurant. was okay and the waitress seemed to try to rush us

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
468 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
3.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,025 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalier Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalier Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9415 Hearst Drive, San Simeon, CA 93452-9724 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cavalier Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £117 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cavalier Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service hotel, the only oceanfront resort property in San Simeon, situated 3 miles south of Hearst Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavalier Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cavalier Oceanfront Hotel San Simeon
Best Western San Simeon
San Simeon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing