We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Simeon Lodge(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Silver Surf Motel(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oceanpoint Ranch(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,938)
Filter reviews
2,938 results
Traveller rating
1,682
887
245
93
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,682
887
245
93
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean frontrocking chairsoceanfront roomwood burning fireplacehearst castleroom servicemini bareach eveningkeurig coffee makeron site restaurantwatch the sunsetelephant sealsstayed longerthe pacific oceanhear the wavescentral coastsecond floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,691 - 2,696 of 2,938 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
14
Reviewed 27 July 2005

We stayed for an Anniversary weekend July 22 - 25. We chose to stay in a room in the "Terrace" area - room #279. It had a north coastal view rather than a straight on ocean view - $ 100 less and we still had a beautiful view. The only downside to this room is that it's a little less private, and also the smoke blows in the room from the bonfires. It smelled smokey when we walked in. The "Terrace" area is closer to the cliffs than "King's Row". The weather was beautiful and cool. Sunny in the mid-day, foggy mornings and evenings. We had a nice time, no complaints except one. There was no microwave, plates, silverware or paper towels. We often like to pick up meals, snacks and drinks and warm them up later , so this was an inconvience for us. (Also, if your're travelling with kids, there's no roll-away beds available.) The hotel restaurant was basic good food. The little Mexican restaurant to the south was real good. We drove up to see the seals, the pier, Hearst Castle, Big Sur - all fun to see. If you go to Big Sur, stop and eat at Nepente's. Great place. We had a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2005

We stayed here on the 'Driving Highway One' segment of our U.S. trip, as we wanted to visit Hearst Castle the following morning. I chose the ocean, west, side of the road, as I wanted to see a good sunset, and that didn't disappoint. Sue, at reception was most helpful, she had a chart of sunset times and told us that it was due at 8.11 that night, 6th June. We took all our luggage into the spacious room and went out through the patio doors onto the bluff, where the torches and firepits were being lit. It was very very windy and rather cold, but well worth seeing the sunset. We then went to the restaurant and had a nice, wholesome meal with a great bottle of zinfandel red. The restaurant staff were very nice in a homely way.
I lit the fireplace in the room later, it was a bit chilly, but the fire didn't take very well. We were given small rings of compressed woodpulp, and no firelighters. Just as well, maybe, as there was no extinguisher in the room! I think in Europe there would have been one and a fire blanket, too. The room was fine, though, large and with a nice view of the ocean.
Sue had recommended that we get to Hearst Castle early, so we skipped breakfast and got there for 8am, for the first tour at 8.20. We hadn't pre-booked, so that was a good plan. Sue was also kind enough to give us a late checkout, so we were back from the castle in time to reload the car and get on our way to Santa Barbara. Thankyou Sue!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2005

My wife and I stayed here for five nights last week and loved it. We had a OceanView King room that was clean, and had a wonderful view. The grounds are very nice, and staff was very polite. The resterant they have on site is also good. However my tips are as follows:
*If you will be arriving late, make sure you have eaten! There is absolutley no place to get food after 9:00pm, and even the local market is closed.
*Bring very warm clothes to be out at night, as the temperature at the beach and in your romm drops way down, fast!
*The best places to shop, eat and look around are about five minutes North on the one in the small town of Cambria. Try Lynn's for pies and other great treats.
*There is a small shopping center next to the hotel, hidden in there is a small Salon/Day Spa. It is wonderful, they have a view of the Ocean and their prices are very reasonable. My wife got a Mani/Pedi (By a wonderful lady named Christine) that she swore was the best she had ever had. I got a massage that was also wonderful. The name of the place is Diva Salon I think? Ask the hotel, they pointed us there.
*Stay here if you must stay in San Simeon, the hotel is FAR, Far nicer than any of the others in the town.
Safe Travel to all-CB

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TheLuxeTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Azusa, California
16
Reviewed 13 July 2005

The Cavalier Oceanfront resort is an excellent stop or destination while traveling up the Calif. coast. The rooms are nice and the fireplace is a real plus. The only thing that is better then the view from your room every morning is the clam chowder from the cavalier restaurant. There is three fire pits out on the bluffs that are lit every night at sunset. We had one to ourselves the three nights we where there. The only minor complaint is that the king rooms only have dial-up Internet service and the bathroom / closet is a little on the small size. Other than that excellent, We would not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2005

you decide,

Great food, fireplace, crisp sheets, wonderful scenery, friendly staff.

Elephant seals and squirrels that eat out of your hand just a few miles down the road in the state park.

Romance, value and easy access to good food and liquor for a decent price.

We saw a wedding party taking pictures against a sunset as the fog rolled in and it was one of most surreal eyeball images of my life. I loved it.

Stayed: June 2005
9  Thank RXRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews