We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stopped here for the night while driving the Big Sur. What a gem the bed was super comfortable the pillows were great and so was the large room, which included a fridge and a microwave. You are just over the street from the beach. It then came as our surprise that it was the cheapest hotel in the area for the particular night we stayed There is an indoor swimming pool for people that don't want to go to the beach and a $7 breakfast if you're interested. Overall it was a great little surprise for the night.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the end facing the ocean to watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

CIiff Notes version: Couldn’t sleep, couldn’t bathe, couldn’t eat at this motel. But even worse, couldn’t get on the internet no matter what browser/device/method. I can deal with a lot of silliness in a cheap Motel. The shower spigot was five feet tall and a paltry trickle of water came out that was impossible to get the right temperature. So I solved that problem by washing my hair sort-of bent over in the cold drips. The Hearst Castle website ad for the motel said there was a free continental breakfast – and the sign outside the motel said "American Breakfast”, which I thought meant the same thing. In the morning, I found out that for $7 they would give me a coupon to go to the cardboard-box style restaurant at the next-door hotel for bacon and eggs. I solved that problem by going across the street to the Cavalier restaurant where bacon and eggs was $5. The walls were paper-thin, so I’ve gotten to know 5 new families who I’ve never met (and they’ve never met me). The carpet and furniture had gross stains, so I was able to play “Pretending the floor is hot lava”. BUT when I’m on a vacation and when I’m trying to plan the next day, I NEED to get on the internet. Their sign said “Free Wi-Fi” and my computer hooked-up to it just fine, but it was so slow that after several minutes of pages not coming up, the browser would just quit trying. I went down to the office to complain – it was closed after 9PM. I tried to complain first thing the next morning – they said they would try re-setting their router. It’s like: no, resetting your router will not fix the fact that you've obviously bought a residential router to serve the whole motel and have purchased an insufficient frozen syrup internet service from your ISP. In this day and age, no working internet is a Cardinal Sin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmpdsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Desk clerk was very patient and nice. I had made a mistake with booking 3rd party but she was quick to figure it out and help us get a room. Room was very nice roomy and clean. Bathroom area was large. There was no microwave. Places to eat close early so don't get in late at night and want to eat.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed in a room on the lower non-smoking level, smelled a bit funny but didn't notice it after a while. Was very cheap at just over $100 especially as there were five of us. Room was clean and sizeable. Reception lady was very polite and helpful. Recommended hotel for a night stopover travelling Highway 1.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank FiMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

No computer or printer, no rest room in lobby, breakfast purchase at $7!!
Front desk coldness, they need to greet & smile.
Rooms need major work, looks sad & worn.
Shady characters behind hotel. Maid"s kids running around

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Will definitely stay here again. Older motel but updated and clean. Large rooms nice location. Across hwy from beach. Quiet and peaceful. Good job. Don't hesitate to book here. Close to town and all amenities.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner and I rolled into San Simeon without reservations and we were fortunate to choose Courtesy. The room was large, clean and very comfortable and excellently located. I can recommend this place without reservation. We opted for the breakfast deal with the restaurant next door and found it satisfactory and convenient for an early start.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
919 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Inn
Sea Breeze Inn
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn San Simeon

Address: 9450 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £38 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtesy Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing