We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 for 1 night.
Not much to say about this place. Rooms were clean and tidy, but could probably do with a renvoation. We were given 237, which was on the ground floor, so we were able to park right outside the door, making it easier with our bags.
Front desk staff member was polite but seemed quite uninterested in us.
Free Wi-Fi was not really fast, but was appreciated nonetheless.
We were not told about any local restaurants or bars, even though the hotel did not offer any food etc, except for an American breakfast for $7.50, that we were not told about either.
Useful place to stay if you are on the way down the Pacific Coastal Highway, as Hearst Castle is close by, and Cambria is 5-10 minutes down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troyman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    170
    173
    65
    46
See reviews for
190
166
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

A single night stay after visiting Hearst Castle, I was very happy with our room. Three double beds in a large room with a table and four chairs for a decent value in price it made for comfort for our family of 5 with two teens and an adult son. The shower head was a little low but that would honestly be my only complaint, the location was good right across from the beach and we all got a comfy night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaD510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'll start by agreeing with some other recent positive reviews. This motel has a good location on the Central Coast, very close to Hearst Castle and Cambria. The room was spacious, clean and quiet with comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. For the ridiculously low price, you couldn't really ask for more.

That said, I do have some less positive observations to share. Having internet availability is important to me. If an inn doesn't offer free wi-fi, I won't stay there. This place advertises free wi-fi, but they did not deliver. The wi-fi was utterly useless. I logged on, my computer showed that I was connected with excellent signal strength, but that simply was not true. I had nothing! They let me down. A visit to the front desk did not solve the problem.
If you plan on keeping ice cream in the in-room freezer, don't, unless you like soup!
The indoor pool is a bit small, but that's okay. The water was clear, which you'd expect when you enter the pool area and are nearly knocked over by the massive chlorine smell. Over-chlorination notwithstanding, there is a ring around the pool! Around the entire perimeter of the pool, there is four inches of grunge on the tile just above the surface of the water. I guess it's been there for awhile, because folks have scratched their names in it, as well as words like "filth" and "wash me", Nasty! Tip: the towels are at the front desk (you won't find any in the pool area itself).
One last nitpick - we got one bar of soap which disintegrated literally within seconds. I couldn't believe it! Seriously. I started to lather it up and it broke into five pieces!

Finally, I'll agree with a reviewer who stated that the bathroom fan was loud. Ours (room 235) sounded like a small tractor! And I'll disagree with the reviewer who felt that the breakfast was advertised as free. I was very clear that breakfast was $7. That was clearly stated in a couple of places. Given the overall experience we'd had, we opted to drive into Cambria for breakfast rather than see what seven bucks would get us here ;)

In conclusion, we did get exactly what we paid for, a clean comfortable room at a low, low price. If you need more amenities, this might be be your best option.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I've only stayed one night here on my way to Hears Castle. I appreciated the personal help in changing rooms as the first had some AC problems, the tea/coffee in the room.
Both the Bathroom and the room were big, with everything you need around - TC, table near the window.. etc

Room Tip: Choose a room near the Highway to see the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana_Cis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel was a great deal. The place was clean and the beds were comfortable. They have a nice indoor pool. The room was also spacious. The bathroom was a little small but it's not like you needs a lot of room in there. The best part about this hotel is they have air conditioning!!! Not many places in San Simeon have it so I was excited to find it. The hotel is right next door to a decent restaurant. The restaurant was a little on the pricey side for dinner but that's to be expected from a place serving tourists. Go to nearby Cambria for better dining experience.

In summary, for a family on a budget this is a great hotel. We stayed two nights and had no problems.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and it seemed like we made a lot of noise when we walked. I would suggest being ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carissa125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haines City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

It's not very often that we disagree with the the fine folks that review for trip advisor but we really did on this one. Apparently there are some remodeled rooms somewhere and we didn't get one. Our room 223 was disgusting at best. The free wifi never worked - not for one second and their American Breakfast - advertised on their sign - right next to free wifi, implying that it is free was NOT FREE. The fan/light in the bathroom made so much noise we were afraid to turn it on in the morning when we got up (6:15) for fear of waking up the entire hotel. Everytime we flushed the toilet it ended with a very loud wheezing noise. The clock radio, even though off, crackled until we finally unplugged it. The batteries for the remote were almost dead making it hard to change between the "free HBO" and 12 other channels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 2old2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great value for money. Clean. Comfortable. Pool was lovely after a day on the road. The restaurant next door was handy with the 10% discount for dinner, and $7 breakfast. We could hear every step of the neighbours upstairs, but fortunately they left at 5 am and we could go back to sleep :) A good find for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyZ1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
266 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.0 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtesy Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Inn San Simeon

Property: Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Address: 9450 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Courtesy Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtesy Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy Hotel San Simeon
Courtesy San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing