We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn San Simeon
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Large, clean rooms”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had the Hearst Castle special two night package. It included two tickets to Hearst Castle and two dinners. The meal at the hotel restaurant was very good and exceeded out expectations. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1NightOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    75
    76
    35
    34
See reviews for
85
108
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

After driving for 6 hours and enjoying the terrific scenery along highway 1 we needed a place to hang our hats for the night. Came across this little area with hotels, shops and restaurants and chose the Quality Inn. Great choice. What a choice, what with a very friendly receptionist, a lovely modern room with a king bed and plush bedding, free wireless internet, a pool, a jacuzzi and even free breakfast.All that and in a peaceful quiet area with the sounds of birds and just about nothing else. We couldn't go wrong and we didn't. You wont go wrong here and you wont be disappointed. A definite gem and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont really matter, its only two floors and its so peaceful anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlabamaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Quality inns are usually mid level trending to low level hotels. I was surprised that the room was decent and didn't smell bad. I got a room in the front wing so cant vouch for the rear one. Free continental breakfast was also unexpected. Just toast, fruit and waffles so no big deal but when you have kids, a free breakfast that they can pick out is always a winner.
The attached restaurant was a winner. Better than most that are attached to hotels. A bit pricey for what it was and if you like simple fare your going to hate it. The chef is one of those creative guys. My kids didn't like it but the wife and I thought it pretty good.
Id stay here again next time I visit Hearst Castle.

Room Tip: I can only say that the front wing which is attached to the entrance has been occupied by myself so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on Coastal Highway. Placed in a general hotel area near San Simeon.
Reasonable rooms but vary ordinary hotel. Not so well maintained. Not so much to do.
Breakfast was though good.
Restaurant next door was very good with fine food.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

The room looked like it was recently upgraded but it smelt like urine. Woke up several times during the night gagging of the smell. Carpets were filthy, towels were so worn out, that Ive seen toilet paper that was thicker. We had to run the hot water several minutes before it ran hot. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

Dayton
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here because we were going to tour the Hearst Castle. We selected a room with the ocean view balcony which is on second floor and they do not have an elevator. We did eat at the attached restaurant and had the evening special, which was over priced, a small serving and only OK.
We should have had two nights so we could spend the full day at the Castle since there is plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired12-31-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inland empire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We have been here several times on the AAA special. We upgrade to the jacuzzi suite. Never, disappointed. The restaraunt is AWESOME. Staff in both places are wonderful. So friendly! Even offer suggestions! We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Always upgrade to the jacuzzi suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnk021409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#5 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Property: Quality Inn San Simeon
Address: 9260 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing