We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying near Hearst Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn San Simeon
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staying near Hearst Castle”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Only 3 miles further south is a complex full of motels. We stayed just one night and felt we had made a good choice. The room and bed were large and very comfortable. The woman on reception called Jana was very helpful & welcoming, recommending the attached restaurant which turned out to be excellent as well. They gave you 10% discount on the main dish if you showed your key card. We could also make tea in our room which went down well after a day's drive. Breakfast was included and you could make your own waffles!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrien62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    76
    77
    35
    34
See reviews for
86
109
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel out of the blue when we were driving along the Pacific. They offered us a great rate ($80, including tax) so we decided to go for it.

Room was spacious and clean but had no A/C. Not a problem now, but in hot summers it might be.

Beds and pillows were good, bathroom also. Breakfast was pretty standard but that is no problem to me. Breakfastroom is a bit small, but there weren't a lot of guests during our stay.

This facility is next to the highway, within walking distance of the beach and lot of restaurants in the area. We had a great meal at next door Manta Rey (with a 10% discount because we stayed in QI).

All in all a good option for us, especially with the decent rate we got.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas5915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We paid $131.83 with tax and that was really too much for this hotel. A similar one in LA was 71.00 a night. That would have been a more accurate price. Yes it was convenient to the Heart Castle and that's why we stayed there. I ordered tickets by phone the night before for a 9:00 departure. There are so many bus tours that they get filled up and so it's better to do that than to just arrive. I had read the awful reports on Trip Advisor but this was like the best of the worst. The hotel front desk area was tattered and torn. The breakfast area was so tiny one could hardly sit down and so cramped you were on top of other people who in our case had a cold and was coughing and snorting. We went down at 7:00 because we has the early tickets and nothing was ready. It took quite a long time to get set up as the lady was also the front desk person. We were quite annoyed at this. The room was weird. It was dark because it was on a courtyard and had a tap that hardly reached the sink. There was a Jacuzzi but no way to turn it on. There was a gas fireplace that looked like it had never been used. The Juliette balcony was on the ground floor. The restaurant was very overpriced and small. Again you could hear everyone's conversation. The pool area was uninviting. I was in California for 2 weeks and this was definitely the worst of all the hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Like many we stayed here to facilitate visit to Hearst Castle, and it was certainly convenient. Room was average, clean but dark. We had a very long wait to check in, enlivened by man in front complaining about bedbugs in his room!! (although we found none....) Restaurant very overpriced and small, so better value found further along the road. Breakfast plentiful but tiny room, poorly arranged, so chaotic. Pool poorly maintained - in fenced off area, with nice looking hot tub, but spoiled by lack of cleaning of surrounds which were badly dirtied by birds (and not recently). We spent 4 weeks in USA this trip, and this was probably the worst value for money, even given the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 108carolh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a nice hotel. nice breakfast and free Wi-Fi access. the hotel was very clean.
the rate was a little expensive 100$ not including tax.

but the over night stay was great. the hotel is very close to a few restaurants.
if you want you can keep on checking other hotels in the area this is was the best one we found.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed one night only last week of September as we were travelling to visit Hearst castle next day.
Called about 6pm to make a booking. rate was $100pn two people.. better rate than over the sea side of the main highway.
Room upstairs, quite large, comfortable double bed, clean bathroom, sliding door to small balcony..nice cool breeze in evening and in the morning.
No air con but room was ok, left sliding door open till we retired.slept well.

Meals:
Evening meal-Didn't end up eating at Quality Inn, just went along to road on same side to the Bar and Grill
Breakfast--had the continental at Quality Inn--cereal, juice, coffee, pastry. no lavish but normal for many types of accommodation.

Check in--Front counter was smooth, polite, pleasant
Check out--no delays

Room Tip: try to get upstairs, facing ocean as there was a nice cooling breeze And fog in the morning made us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We reserved the Hearst Castle package and didn't get a printed confirmation. At arrival they charged a higher rate than quoted and said if we left we would be billed anyway due to their cancellation policy. We will not return here again just on principle. To be fair,the room was very clean but well overdue for renovation.

Room Tip: get a room off the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
589 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn San Simeon

Property: Quality Inn San Simeon
Address: 9260 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748 (Formerly El Rey Garden Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn San Simeon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
San Simeon Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing