We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value- Close To Hearst Castle”
Review of Motel 6 San Simeon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 San Simeon
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Staying at the Motel 6 in San Simeon is a good way to balance the cost of tours at Hearst Castle, which is located just three miles from the motel. We stayed here as a family of four in a room with two queen beds in December. The room was $62 for the night, and we had the option of spending an additional $6.95 per person if we wanted a full breakfast in the attached restaurant. The rooms are basic Motel 6 -no frills- although our room had a view of the Pacific Ocean. Some of the rooms offer a mini-fridge for an additional charge, parking is free and the rooms are accessed through interior hallways. Reasons to stay here: location and budget pricing.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Dont' think because it's ranked 9/10 for San Simeon it's no good- I imagine it's quite close ratings for all the motels which are more or less next to each other by the side of the road anyway. Stayed in a few motel 6 whilst driving down the coast and all smelt of fresh paint and appeared to be relatively newly decorated. No fridges in rooms, but several ice machines. Basic, but great if you just need to get your head down somewhere for the night. Close to tourist attraction Hearst Castle and ranch.

Room Tip: Lots of people seem to use this as a night stop off, so if you're looking for a lie in, would su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teaplease100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This area of the coast is usually pretty expensive with very few budget options. I'm always travelling on a budget, so I was really happy to see a Motel 6! This one is also really nice for a Motel 6. They have a restaurant and bar on the grounds. They are also right accross the street from the beach. We had a really nice night walking along the beach and climbing on the rocks!! Good times on a budget!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This motel is a great value and is in close proximity to the Hearst Castle. The rooms were clean, bright, and up to date. The interior hallways are accessed with your room key, making it feel safer than other motels without exterior hallways. The rooms do not have a clock and no shampoo or conditioner is provided.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndwhirlwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

pros:
+ cheap
+ convenient location for Hearst Castle (5 minute drive)
+ clean and spacious rooms
+ on site restaurant, as well as other restaurants along the street
+ feels safe since all floors require a card key for access

cons:
- very basic furniture
- no shampoo or conditioner ... only soap bars
- broken faucet in our room
- charge for internet

if you are visiting Hearst Castle and just need a cheap place for the night, this hotel totally gets the job done. The rooms were spacious, and seemed clean. Furniture is very basic and reminded me of college dorm rooms. The bathroom sink faucet was not flowing properly and formed multiple thin sharp streams. There was a restaurant on-site that has optional breakfast buffet for about $7. Optional internet is about $3 (don't remember exactly).
Do keep in mind that there are soap bars in the bathroom but no shampoo or conditioner.

Room Tip: second floor rooms presumably have less noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangesarebetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this motel 10 years ago and then again Oct 2013 and it did not disappoint. It's just a basic room, however it is clean and roomy and gas been updated The staff is friendly and accommodating and the location is convenient to the castle.
Joni B

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Joni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Room was good, bed was not that great but we slept good. Unusual for a Motel 6 was a bar and restaurant. We drank in the bar and had nachos. Recommend the hotel for being quiet and pretty good ambience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardl441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cambria Palms Motel
Cambria Palms Motel
#12 of 12 in Cambria
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Simeon

Address: 9070 Castillo Dr, SR 1/Cabrillo Highway at Vista Del Mar exit, San Simeon, CA 93452-9726
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Simeon - Hearst Castle Area is 6 miles from Hearst Castle and across the street from the ocean! Some rooms offer a partial view of the ocean. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, outdoor pool and smoke free rooms. Wi-Fi is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
Motel 6 San Simeon Hearst Castle Area
Motel Six San Simeon
San Simeon Motel Six
San Simeon Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing