We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official SiteUS$61
Expedia.comUS$61
PricelineUS$55
Hotels.comUS$61
Agoda.comUS$55
FindHotelUS$61
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
57
161
175
59
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
161
175
59
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hearst castle cambria ocean pet dogs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I believe this was not built as a motel 6 but was bought and converted. Rooms are off an interior corridor. Standard decent motel 6 room. Clean etc. A real plus is they are dog friendly and dogs are allowed at San Simeon Beach. The beach is just across the freeway. On decent site restaurant and several other choices in walking distance.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visalia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2017

First of all we weren't even booked in because our online booking booked date we booked it, which apparently does happen, so ended up paying double and not sure if we will get refund for original booking. There were no coffee making facilities, no toiletries except bar of soap, no extra pillows or blankets either. Only use two electronics for wifi free and there was 5 of us. BASIC, would not stay in any motel 6 again! Get cheaper and more luxury elsewhere

Room tip: Not motel 6
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi Sharon. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard your reservation and the inconveniences you experienced. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

You usually know what you get with Motel 6 and it's usually a safe and good choice without the big surprises.
One of the drawbacks with Motel 6 is that fridge and micro are not standard. So if you need it, be careful what room you choose and make sure its included or available.
My experience is that this place is a good choice for a few days stay on the coast of San Simeon / Cambria. Despite some negative aspects I would not have any doubts about staying here again. I will rate it as 3+.
Pros:
Spacious and nice room.
Good location just off hwy 1.
Restaurant on site.
Very friendly and welcoming staff.
Cons:
Very poor and unstable WIFI, comes and goes.
The WIFI code has to be renewed every day, and it is one code for each device, which can be a bit frustrating (make sure you get enough codes for all your devices).
Low waterpressure.
Poor sound insulation between the rooms.
I have seen more tidy pool areas, think it looks better on the pictures than in reality.
Extremely noisy fan in the bathroom, which turns on automatically when you turn on the light. Makes more noise than a nuclear powerplant, but maybe its on purpose as some kind of a power saving measure?

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shlarsen360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Motel 6 isn’t exactly a luxury experience but then you’re not paying luxury prices. We find Motel 6 to be perfect on a road trip because many independent motels can be downright scary! This Motel 6 was even a little nicer than the average Motel 6. We arrived late at night and left early in the morning and didn’t even notice the pool. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the linens and towels were acceptable and the water pressure was fine. What else could you ask for in an inexpensive motel? The coffee was even decent and then came the gem of this Motel 6. As I was getting my coffee, a front office clerk named Sean struck up a conversation and then started giving me possible highlights of my intended road trip and offering tips. He even gave me tips that I didn’t know about and then directions to other possible locations. Thanks Sean for all of your advice and for being a straight up honest and helpful individual.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

very basic motel. very basic rooms. noicy. not very comfortable at all. very pricy for what you will get. This was by far the most expensive night during our trip - we payed less and got more both in LA and in SF. If you get the room with less than 100$ then it is barely acceptable, but we had to pay much more. No breakfast, but free coffee in the lobby. HOwever, the coffe is only until 10 or 10:30 and if you dare to ask if one minute after, you will get very angry reponse from the staff (I understand that it can be limited to morning hours only, but you could be little bit more polite if guest do not know it and ask it one minute after the deadline). the evening staff was nice and polite. There is also co-located restaurant for simple dinner (did not try) and for breakfast (I looked what they offer and with what price, and decided that no way am I going to eat there)

Room tip: ask room from upper level and facing the sea
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank a_nordic_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews