We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay...would come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn San Simeon
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stay...would come again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed two nights for my birthday. It was an excellent rate, esp for a Fri and Sat night. There was a decent breakfast in the morning, plus you get 10% off at the cafe next door if you show them your room key. The room was clean and big; it was quiet. The beds were not for us; a little bit too hard of a mattress. Also wish there had been some fresh fruit in the breakfast. But it was great overall. I wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    210
    156
    61
    42
See reviews for
214
239
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We Stayed in Days Inn San Simeon was the best hotel i ever stayed in my life very clean and big room and staff was very friendly also Front Desk Manager Uzma give us excellent customer service and one of kind person, she was the one who chekd us in at night and we were very surprised that in the morning Uzma is the one helped us out with the breakfast... She is a very good person and knows how to do her job so my Recommendation to all travelor that you should stay in Days Inn San Simeon Ca

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnSS, Owner at Days Inn San Simeon, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Days Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

this was the nicest days inn we've ever stayed in. Uzma was so helpful - went above and beyond

very good rates and very nice and clean. renovations were under way, but did not disturb us.
J f, coarsegold CA

Room Tip: 2nd floor has ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jf-coarsegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

given the start to our experience at the Days Inn, i was shocked the the manager asked me to provide feedback on the hotel as we checked out. i am now making good on my promise to tell the world what happened. honestly though, i'm still not really sure what did happen at check in.

12 days prior to arrival, i'd booked a 2 queen/non smoking room. we were running late on our day of arrival so i called to say that we were still coming and reconfirmed the type of room we had booked. i was told not to worry, take our time and they would see us when we got there.

great.

right?

wrong.

we walked into reception and the manager was asking her employee if we were "the problem". that's not really what you want to hear on walking in the door at 7pm on a saturday night of a holiday weekend. the manager proceeded to apologize to me. they didn't have our room. they were really sorry. she asked me when we booked. could she see my confirmation. she was new to this hotel. they had construction going on. blah blah blah.

i was dumbfounded being that we had called 2.5 hours prior and they were so casual about everything. we were now told that the only room they had was a queen and they could give us a roll away bed. supposedly everyone had checked in and that was all that was left. the manager offered us 20% off our stay. i said i wasn't happy. she then offered us 50% off our stay. i still wasn't happy but as my friend rightfully pointed out, what choice did we have? everything else in town was sold out for the holiday weekend.

as i sat there stewing and weighing options, the manager miraculously found a 2 queen/non smoking room. huh? i told her i wasn't sure what had just happened. i asked my friend if she understood what had happened. it still is a mystery but it's a relief that our expectations were met and neither of us was spending our holiday weekend on a roll away bed!

the room itself:
had a bed that was just soft enough to make my back sore in the middle of both nights
had a light switch for the bathroom that was on the outside of the bathroom. strange...
had one lamp that was sharing an outlet with the fridge and tv so there was no outlet available for it unless you unplugged one of these other items.
wasn't replenished with coffee or coffee cups for the next morning. i had to get some at reception since she was short staffed and couldn't bring it to me.
had the soap removed after our first night so we had to open fresh soap the next day. huh?
had a fridge that did not include a freezer portion to refreeze my ice pack.
had a light fixture as bright as the sun over the bathroom vanity. totally not necessary.

the breakfast:
had a waffle maker. very great. loved it!
had good quality apple juice
had a single serving coffee maker that made light brown water and not good coffee
did NOT have any fruit. can you please add apples and bananas?

the spa:
was in an odd place and had poor ventilation but it was HUGE and the jets were powerful.

bottom line, i'll never go back there but i have to give the manager credit, she really did try everything possible to make me happy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#3 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Simeon Lodge
San Simeon Lodge
#2 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Simeon

Property: Days Inn San Simeon
Address: 9280 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Simeon 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Simeon Hotel San Simeon
California Inns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing