We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, service and atmosphere”
Review of Big Sur Restaurant

Big Sur Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We came in around a busy time and they still did a great job. The portions were much bigger than others around here, and the food was good enough to wish we didn't choose to share (though we couldn't have moved if we hadn't). They had a discount for neighboring hotels, and the diner feel made us immediately at home when we're actually on the wrong side of the country. It's a great family-owned restaurant that we wouldn't hesitate to eat at again if we lived closer.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank KABluejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 153 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

This place was a convenient walk from our Motel 6 accommodation and options for dining were few. It was ok. The decor and furnishings were old and the place smelt damp but it was clean and the food was freshly cooked. We both had a glass of the house red which was reasonably priced and surprisingly good. Overall definitely value for money but the restaurant could so easily be brightened up with better lighting and colour.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AliH146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I was very surprised about this little place , great service, tasty food , good local wines !! Veggie burger with portobello mushroom amazing and great clam chowder

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Onesimo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent restaurant!! Clean, food was great, good prices and the best service. Waitress/host Cynthia was so friendly (from the heart) and helpful. Everyone else were soooo nice. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 390eddier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I both got breakfast and really enjoyed it. The staff was very cheerful and helpful. I'd come back here again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Big Sur Restaurant also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Big Sur Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.