We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
California
1 review
“Avoid if possible”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

You get what you pay for. This place is old, and stale. The free breakfast wasn't that great, so we ended up going to get food else where. The A/C units leak water all over the walk ways. The doors to the rooms open to the outside. The parking lot was full of potholes etc etc. You can get better for the same money else where.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoeboy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    157
    114
    54
    37
See reviews for
182
97
60
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was one of the worst places I have stayed in years! I booked through one of the popular low price booking sites that assigns you a hotel. All of the other brands they listed were great...and I got this place. I will start with the staff's unwillingness to accommodate my request for twin double beds in my rooms. When I called on the phone after booking, they did not want to do it because I did not book direct with them. They suggested I ask when I arrive, which I did. After asking for the rooms, there was some some discussion between the clerk and the manager. The manager mentioned the name of the booking company and proceeded to speak in Spanish to the clerk. I was offended by that as I felt they were trying to hide something. Sorry, I don't speak Spanish...never will! Eventually they relented and gave me the rooms I requested. But the joy didn't last long.

One of the rooms was fine. My kids stayed in that room. The room I was in smelled musty and stale. I went to open the window to air it out and surprisingly, there were no screens. So I would just have an open window that anything could come in through. Next I tried the TV. Nothing. Checked the power, still nothing. I called the front desk and they sent someone over who said he was "new" and he couldn't run it on either. So, I asked for a different room. The clerk gave me new keys to a room that had one king bed and a sofa bed. Since they had no more double bed rooms (or at least that is what they told me) I agreed to take it. Upon entering that room I was overwhelmed by the smell of what seemed to be a combination of cigar, cigarette and marijuana smoke. This is a non-smoking room and it was really bad. So, again, I opened the window (no screen) hoping to air it out. I would have requested another room but we were running late for a concert and had to unpack and get ready. Since I had spent time dealing with the first room I had to get ready and go. When we left I closed the window and turned the AC on full hoping it would help the smell by the time we returned.

We returned about 1:30am. When I entered the room the smell was just as bad as before. Given the time and how tired we were I did not want to deal with changing to yet another room at that time. So we pinched our noses and went to sleep.

The next morning as we prepared to leave we showered and noticed that the shower/ bathtub drain wasn't doing it's job. After the second shower I was ankle deep in water. In addition, there was only one bar of soap to share between the sink and shower and no shampoo at all in the room. Luckily my friend had brought some.

While the room appeared to be nice at first glance, it really wasn't that great. I have stayed in much better rooms for far less than I paid for this. As you can see in the photos, the bathroom fan was literally hanging from the ceiling. The toilet was totally out of whack and disgusting. The shower issue is evident and I'm not quite sure what they are going for with the cheesy shower curtains that look like they have been there for untold years.

All in all, if I could, I would rate this place an absolute zero! It looks as if they took an old, worn out motel, slapped a coat of paint on it and renamed it something kind of fancy without doing any repairs or upgrades. It was a waste of money and a real negative to our trip. I will never stay at this hotel or a La Quinta again.

Room Tip: If you MUST go here, do not let them give you room 221!!! Make sure that everything is how you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This was our first stay in a La Quinta brand hotel and it certainly won't be our last. We chose La Quinta for their pet policy - they don't charge any pet fees. Our stay was comfortable and extremely pleasant. This hotel is nestled among several other nice looking hotel properties (on a street called "Hotel Terrace") and we felt very safe here. The room was very spacious and had a micro-fridge and separate sink area, almost like a mini kitchen. The bed was one of the best we've had in a hotel. Room was clean but there were several worn spots on the carpet, not a big deal. We are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geodesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was frustrated by a blind booking engine that placed me here as I do not think that this property is a 3.0 star EVER.

That being said -- I consider a star system on the basis of Luxuries and not cleanliness -- but it seems in modern parlance - it is meant to reflect good vs. bad or clean vs. dirty.

All said - this property was surprisingly tolerable. The bed was small but acceptable. The open area of the room nice and a large refrigerator. It was clearly a refinished room - I cannot speak for other rooms.

Prior reviews had my caution flags up for this property. Persons has references poor staffing, safety concerns, limited parking, etc. For my experience, the Staff were extremely polite at check-in and sufficiently polite at check-out.

The 1st floor room was not in a position near the pool that some might desire - but for us it constituted more noise and more limited privacy

Parking is tight at night which ads to stress -however the front desk re-assured me that it was not fully booked and that it would not likely be an issue --- Did I change my plans for my hotel? Yes I did. I came back earlier to avoid a potential parking issue.

In any case - I think its an acceptable 2.5 --- but that it should never be classified as a 3.0

Also - skip the free breakfast. Its free for a reason and a stretch to call it breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I'm delighted to be writing this review. I appreciated the intelligent design of the room and the courteous service. The placement of the refrigerator, sink, and microwave oven is exactly what I would want for a stay away from home. The hotel is located walking distance from a good restraunt and I found the spa relaxing at the end of day. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Being a guest at this La Quinta Inn is a 3-D experience--it was Dirty, Depressing, and Disgusting. This is NOT a 3-star hotel; the rooms it offers are much more suitable to a cheap motel. Our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The carpeting was so dirty that my husband and I waited to take off our shoes until we were at the side of the bed. The "suite" they provide is merely a small foam sofa (with ripped upholstery and cigarette holes) and a chair--the single bed is on the other side of a small wall--not a separate room. There are no amenities provided except a bar of soap. We paid $100.+ for this room--we should have slept in our car instead. Save yourself the trouble of staying here. This La Quinta hotel is too dirty for families /children, and too depressing for any business person looking for an oasis to relax after a long day at work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Orange County Airport North
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Orange County John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport
Address: 2721 Hotel Ter, Santa Ana, CA 92705-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Santa Ana Hotel Santa Ana
La Quinta Santa Ana
Santa Ana La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing