We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel five minutes from the John Wayne/Orange County Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel five minutes from the John Wayne/Orange County Airport”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is very close to the John Wayne airport and is very easy to find. You would figure a hotel that is very close to the airport you would hear a lot of plane traffic. Interestingly, during my overnight stay, I never heard one plane.

We arrived at the hotel on Saturday May 5, at 5:00pm and the check in was quick and easy with a very friendly staff. When we arrived, there was a beautiful large wedding going on. It was kind of strange that the hotels main ballroom was right outside of the front desk. There were a lot of the wedding attendees out in the hotel lobby, so we had to maneuver around them to get to the elevators. They were very courteous and we had no problem moving through the crowd. I looked into the main ballroom and it was large and absolutely beautiful.

The hotel's hallway is very nice and clean with ample lighting. The room was also very clean and nicely appointed. The room has a nice bathroom with a granite counter top and a dark walnut counter. Nice Evelyn & Crabtree bath amenities. There's a flat screen TV and large work desk. The are more than enough electrical outlets which is great for the business traveler.

The bed, pillows, and comforter were extremely comfortable and I have to say it's one of the best I've slept in - in all of my travels.

Our room was facing the side where there was a lot of automobile traffic. I believe it was Main St as I could see Star Bucks and a couple of restaurants from our window. I'm a light sleeper, however the room is nicely insulated so you barely hear the traffic. Also the air conditioning unit is very quiet and I had no problem sleeping.

Contrary to what I mentioned about how nice it was to sleep in the room, an incident happened at 2:30am on Sunday May 6.

The hotel's emergency alarm system went off advising the guest to exit the hotel due to an emergency situation. We got up out of bed to exit the hotel and when we exited our room, there was a heavy smell of "weed" throughout the hallway. When we worked our way to the stairwell, a hotel employee advised it was a false alarm. We figured the weed smoking ...holes tripped the alarm. The alarm kept going on for about 20 minutes which was extremely annoying. At that point I was so upset I had rough time trying to get back to sleep, even with the wonderful bed I enjoying.

This incident wasn't the fault of the hotel, however at checkout, at least the front desk agents could have mentioned the incident and apologized for it.

Putting that incident aside, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel is well kept, very friendly employees, comfortable room, and close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1funkybassplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    310
    140
    68
    49
See reviews for
252
169
83
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis for business and really like it. Its location is good and they have plenty of parking. There are few restaurants across the street along with a Starbucks. They also have a restaurant which has a good breakfast and a bar area. The rooms are well kept and the service is good as well. The corner rooms are really great. The pricing is good and would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure travel. Side note…there is a Doubletree Club hotel right down the street from this one and I would definitely pick this hotel over the Club hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed overnight for pleasure, and found our room waiting as reserved. There was a slight mix-up at check-in, but we are Hilton Gold Members so the issue was quickly rectified. Room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast the next morning a welcome treat. If you are in Orange County for business, or pleasure, this property would be an good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziebill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVaughn1
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Doubletree OC Airport (MacArthur Blvd) is very convenient to the airport! Shuttle service prompt and efficient! Beautiful facility! Checkin was smooth and efficient - especially since I was early. Room was large, nice and clean. Very niced gym! Close to several restaurants (Rubino's and Thai and a creperie) and a Starbucks! We had a meeting in this facility - only needed a small conf. room - and it met our needs perfectly.

Staff was great - all were very friendly and professional! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVaughn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeAB, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and your recent stay. I'm delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your comments will be shared with our staff. See you soon I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Recently booked 3 rooms as HHonors Gold and was given upgraded rooms to top (7th) floor. Even though most our party wasn't arriving until 10:30pm, they allowed me to come check-in early and set the rooms up. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Rooms were clean and good-sized. My only complaint was that the walls or adjoining doors were not good at blocking sound. While in our rooms we had someone from the desk come ask us to quiet down, although I know for certain we were not overly loud. I also noticed that there were room service trays and trash remaining in the hallways outside the rooms for quite a few (6-7) hours.

The hotel is fairly small, and almost has a boutique feel. Breakfast in the morning at the Bordeaux was great and had very good food. (Although the hostess could have been a bit more friendly. I watched her and she seemed rather annoyed with guests when they came to eat.)

A couple minor things barred, all-in-all we had a great time. This will be our choice hotel for the future when we come this way for future meetings!

Room Tip: 5th-7th floors are "Executive Levels". If you can get a free bump to these rooms go for i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed one night at this very clean hotel in a great location for our wine business meetings in April. My room was spacious with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and it was immaculately clean with a nice view of the city from the 4th floor.

The little things make a big difference and I appreciate the famous warm cookie on arrival, the High Definition TV, and the compact Wolfgang Puck coffee maker that brewed a strong cup of java in the morning. I also appreciated that there was no charge to park my vehicle in the underground parking garage. Instead of fighting Friday traffic to drive 3 hours home I will continue to use this excellent hotel in the future and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talldarkhandsomest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Most hotels that cater to business travelers include a free breakfast, free coffee in the lobby or eating area, and free Wi-Fi. Not this hotel. PAY, PAY, PAY for everything -- and it's overpriced. My husband and I won't stay at a Doubletree for business travel anytime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLJ313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Ana Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Address: 201 E Macarthur Blvd, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Santa Ana hotel is six miles from Newport, Laguna, and Huntington beaches and offers complimentary shuttle between the hotel and John Wayne Airport. South Coast Plaza is only 2 miles away. Take advantage of the cosmopolitan pedestrian area surrounding the hotel. Dine in the plaza's elegant restaurants, and enjoy the valet parking and Concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Santa Ana Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing