We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“okay, but not great”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Hotel is located about a 5 minute drive from John Wayne airport and fairly easy to find. They also offer a shuttle service, but despite them claiming its on a 30min frequency, it appears to operate on more of an on-demand mode, so if you're at the airport and intend to use it to get to the hotel, give them a call and tell them you want a pick-up, it'll save you waiting for a bus that may not arrive.

Had a second floor room overlooking the side street (MacArthur Place) rather than MacArthur Blvd itself, but heard next to no traffic noise despite being on such a low floor. The room was nice and clean and with two double beds there was still room to easily move around the furniture. The bed was comfortable and the pillows seemed to range from firm to quite soft - not sure if this was intentional or just a fluke.

The on-site lounge and restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. The lounge bar is very small - you could probably flick a peanut the entire length of the bar and it'd still have a good head of speed when it reached the other end - there are also only a handful of tables so it fills up quite quickly. The restaurant occupies most of the area around the bar, and in the time I was there, there weren't more than a couple of people eating at any one time. The staff looked bored stiff having to cater to such a small number of customers. The same area also serves the breakfast and is far fuller during the morning rush. The food is reasonable, all be it distributed around three stations in the bar area and also the restaurant. They seemed to struggle to keep up with the demand for cooked food and the stations for scrambled egg, bacon and potato often seemed to be empty and weren't restocked particularly quickly.

There's no doubt the hotel is convenient for the airport and also has good access to roads that'll take you to the surrounding area. It's a reasonable hotel, but didn't really live up to the expectation given the other reviews it’s received on this site.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Windswept_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    302
    137
    66
    46
See reviews for
239
166
83
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stay at this hotel each time I am in Irvine/Santa Ana Location. It is easy access to the 55, 405, 73 and a short drive to the 5. Perfect location to get anywhere in about 10-15min (minus the traffic). The staff is friendly, the parking is easy and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed there for one night for a business trip and better than I thought. Very clean rooms, helpful staff, great breakfast, close to everything. It was a Friday night and packed with kids for a soccer tournament but the rooms were quiet. The only downside of the room was that it was hard to find wall sockets for cell phones.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HO W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This actually was the nicest hotel we stayed at during our California road trip. My GF thoroughly enjoyed the exercise center and our room was fantastic.

My only complaint was the hidden costs. We got a terrific deal on hotwire for this hotel but it was a little too good to be true. Parking costed $15 extra and wifi would also have been extra. Personally I think it would be better to just include essentials such as parking in the overall price rather than using this tactic.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeAB, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your terrific comments with others who are making their decision where to stay! We're thrilled to have been dubbed the "nicest hotel you stayed at during your California road trip" and I'm happy to enjoyed your visit with us.

We offer an array of choices when making reservations so that you can choose what works best for you. Some people don't have vehicals, so they find the room only deal the right one. Next time, just look for the packages and discounts that nclude the extras you seek like breakfast,parking etc.
Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The rooms were clean, the staff and service was fantastic. The amenities were slightly lacking. The restaurant is average at best, and while the bartender/server was wonderful, he was the only one there on a Friday night and the poor guy couldn't keep up. In the morning, I grabbed some coffee to go, and got charged $2. Really Doubletree?? We can't offer free coffee? And refills were the same. I think that's pretty tacky for $100 + a night. I'm not asking for a Continental spread here, but coffee would be a nice gesture. If you plan on taking the elevators much, then you should plan on losing several minutes that you can never have back just waiting for them to get there. Then a few more on your way up or down. There isn't much at all around the hotel in walking distance, but they will take you to any restaurant or club within three miles of the hotel, and they even give you a large list of places in the area and their distance to the hotel. This is a great offering. Overall, this place is clean and relatively quiet with very nice staff, which to me, is worth staying here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms = seriously long elevator waits and trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chcgo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeAB, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay. How wonderful that you found the staff and the service to be "fantastic". I understand we had a very busy and unexpected evening in the restaurant/lounge and we should have pulled in someone else to assist. I have addressed this with our food & beverage manager to make sure we have a back-up person on-hand. As far as free coffee, the hotel offers complimentary Wolfgang Puck coffees in every room! Thanks again for taking time to post. We hope to have you back with us again. And, when you do, give me a buzz and I'll be happy to provide a hot cup of coffee from the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Centro, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A generic presentation of excellence- and everything that one would has come to expect from this particular hotel chain. The room was immaculate, the mattress on the king-size bed was very comfortable, and the pillows were to our liking. There is also a small but nice bar conveniently located on the premises. However, the primary reason why anybody should consider staying at this hotel is its location. It is within 15 minutes of Disneyland, Newport Beach, etc.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrelcentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeAB, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We learn so very much when guests share their experience and we use the information to improve service, add amenities and adapt.

It's wonderful when someone takes the time to share all the good news and I'm looking forward to sharing your generous review with my entire staff. "A presentation of Excellence" is exactly what we strive to do everyday and I'm delighted that your family enjoyed the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent one night at this Doubletree property during our Callifornia vacation. The location is easy to find, check-in was easy and the staff were helpful and courteous. Our rooms were very nice--great beds, plenty of space and a refrigerator. Only negative was that the walls seem very thin. This was the 9th hotel stay during our 2 week vacation and the only time we experienced a noise problem. We could very clearly hear their entire conversation of our neighbors next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khall0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeAB, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your high marks about our DoubleTree by Hilton in Santa Ana. We're proud to provide clean, comfortable rooms with the amenities you want when traveling away from home. Weekends in the summer time are quite busy and full of activity and I'm sorry you were bothered by noise from the room nextdoor. So glad you found our staff to be helpful and courteous and we hope to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Orange County Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Address: 201 E Macarthur Blvd, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Santa Ana hotel is six miles from Newport, Laguna, and Huntington beaches and offers complimentary shuttle between the hotel and John Wayne Airport. South Coast Plaza is only 2 miles away. Take advantage of the cosmopolitan pedestrian area surrounding the hotel. Dine in the plaza's elegant restaurants, and enjoy the valet parking and Concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Santa Ana Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing