We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIGH CALIBRE EMPLOYEE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“HIGH CALIBRE EMPLOYEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I regularly book meetings both large and small, room blocks and single stays, and there are always changes in the arrangements. When booking in this area I always go with the DoubleTree on East MacArther. My contact is Jacqueline Um. She is consistently helpful, kind, pleasant, and immediately responsive. She provides excellent support, regardless of the transaction. If you are planning a meeting or just need assistance for an overnight stay, contact Jacqueline. She'll make your job easier and help make your meetings successful.

Room Tip: Close to the SNA airport and lots of great restaurants in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebG1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    295
    131
    65
    41
See reviews for
229
159
82
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

One of the most resonably priced hotels in the area. You can walk out of the hotel and enjoy different kinds of food. The hotel is very close to the airport. To top it all, the staff members are great, from valet, to front desk, till you leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had a great time here. Very nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms. There are gym room, even heated pool and spa that can be accessed 24h. All for very affordable price. No free wifi though. But definitely would come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Liem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty C, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review for our property, DoubleTree Santa Ana Orange County Airport Hotel and we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

On this stay, my hotel visit would have been better if more than one elevator would have been working. The staff took some action, but was not adequate enough. The Fitness Center is to small and not enough equipment for the demand. The location was very convenient to the airport. And as always - more access to the wonderful cookies.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shashi P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to lack of elevator service and small fitness center. We are in the middle of modernizing our Elevators which should be completed before the end of January 2014. We expect these Elevators to be modern, efficient and lot faster. We are also on the planning stage of our Fitness center expansion. Your comment has been shared with the Associates here to ensure that our guests are welcomed with famous Doubletree chocolate chip cookies. We look forward to welcoming you back to Doubletree by Hilton Santa Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a terrible experience at this hotel. I will start with the hotel itself was nice, well kept and clean. The room was good and the beds were good. Hilton is generally good for all of those things. We didn’t have any issues with the accommodations. Self parking is about $15 which is the norm and there are a few places to eat within walking distance. Where it all went wrong for us was customer service. We had an unfortunate experience by being trapped in an elevator for over an hour. Which I completely understand that things happen beyond their control but you would think that the staff would have been trained for such a situation. When we were rescued from the elevator by the fire department not a single hotel staff around to see if anyone was ok and ready with water at minimum or anything. Then to top it off when I spoke to the front desk about it they made us feel like it was our problem and gave us some BS excuse & still not even an – oh I am sorry for your experience is there anything I can do or is everything ok- nothing. To date I sent an email to the person I was told to send an email to & no response. I am more in shock with the lack of kindness or concern for our wel being at this location than the trauma experienced from being stuck for such a long time. Needless to say I will never stay at this location again. Don’t expect much when is come to the staff going above & beyond the call of duty. I hope this is a rare event for the hotel but certainly an area of concern to consider prior to staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luv-2-travel-36DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shashi P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience concerning your recent stay with us. Please accept my deepest apologies for your disappointment in our level of service as there is no excuse for the shortcomings you experienced. Although we failed to demonstrate differently, your experience does not, in any way, represent the level of performance of which we are capable and that we provide on a daily basis to our guests. I am truly sorry that we failed you in this instance. I want you to know that incidents such as this is very are quite rare. Unfortunately, we had over 16 guests in the Elevator despite a visible sign that clearly indicated capacity of maximum 9 guests which caused the Elevator to break down. On a positive note I would like to inform you that we are in the middle of modernizing our Elevators and should be completed no later than end of January 2014. In addition to the Elevator modernization we also have plans to add lobby Bar and expand our Fitness Center. Again, I sincerely hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you in the future whenever your travel brings you to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed there two nights ago. As a diamond I stay at a lot of hilton brands, and have stayed there at least 30 nights in the past 3-4 years.

Only good point is they have added a frig to the room.

There was a huge change to the parking, they have always screwed customers with parking fees but they use to have parking near the door up top first come first serve... They changed it to valet. Now everyone must park in a super small lower deck. Hang on to your room key... It's the only way in or out!
Diamonds pay for parking too.

The room had dry piss on the toilet, had to call and have the bathroom cleaned. I also found dry blood on the wall behind the hand towels!

The AC in the rooms do not work well, never have... If you like to sleep in temps below 70F do not stay here.

I will not return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Diditb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shashi P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of there being no parking near the front entrance and inability to properly clean your room as well as have properly working AC system. We have recently introduced Valet parking system for the convenience of our guests so that they have an option to park on their own or simply use the valet service. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with the Associates here as there is certainly no excuse for our inability to properly clean your room and have a properly working AC system. On a positive note we have just finished installing brand new mattresses in most of our guest rooms and are in the middle of modernizing our Elevators which should be completed before the end of January 2014. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to show you our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had to find a last minute place to stay for the night on our way to San Diego at 2:00 am on a Saturday ("Friday Night"). Since I couldn't book online after midnight, I had to cold call hotels. After trying Fairmont Newport ($199/night) and the Doubletree Club OC Airport (no rooms available), this Doubletree had 2 rooms for a AAA rate of $100-$150 range for the night. Here are the highlights:

Positives
- Check-in was easy with two lobby staff members. The night staff was extremely courteous and professional. Unfortunately they ran out of cookies but the lady was nice enough to offer an apple.
- A nice unexpected courtesy was that since it was so late at 2:30 am by the time we checked in, the front desk person said that we wouldn't be charged for the one night's parking which I believe would have been $15/night. Very appreciated.
- The room was spacious and clean. The refrigerator worked fine and the water pressure was good for a top floor room.
- The warm chocolate chip walnut cookies. I never can get enough of them.

Issues For Us But May Not Be For Others:
- The bed was not padded very well We didn't get that comfy of a night's rest.
- The air conditioning sounded like it was on but wasn 't cooling the room, even with the thermostat set at the lowest level.
- For us, the hotel driveway was a bit difficult to find and drive into and also the garage because it shares the the block with a big apartment complex.

One more note, previous reviews stated that the elevators are slow. I would agree but we had no issue because we came at a time when it wasn't that busy so we didn't have to wait too long.

This was a well ran Doubletree Hotel. Other than a few issues here and there it was perfect for our last minute detour. I highly recommend it for that purpose or even as a home base for vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaySFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
2.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Ana Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Address: 201 E Macarthur Blvd, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5776
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Santa Ana hotel is six miles from Newport, Laguna, and Huntington beaches and offers complimentary shuttle between the hotel and John Wayne Airport. South Coast Plaza is only 2 miles away. Take advantage of the cosmopolitan pedestrian area surrounding the hotel. Dine in the plaza's elegant restaurants, and enjoy the valet parking and Concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Santa Ana Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing