We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uneven but good value overall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Uneven but good value overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel is in an entire complex of hotels, all conveniently midway between SNA John Wayne Orange County airport and downtown Santa Ana, making it a very central location for those two destinations. This is my second stay here, each for three nights, so I have had an opportunity to experience this place at length. Pros and cons:
PROs:
- large rooms. Request a room with a dividing wall between the two or else you'll just get a semi-wall, so it's not really a "suite." I know they offer "efficiency" rooms as well but this room was listed as a suite-- the first time it really was a suite, this time less so. Still I would list the suite (for the price) as a "Pro" because it gave me extra space to work. That said, the desk chair could be more supportive and there were very few power outlets-- bring an extra power strip if you plan to work.
- cooked breakfast: a very nice touch, you have the option of eggs any style or pancakes, with bacon and hash browns on the side. Very limited yogurt, fruit, and cereal selection otherwise. Terrible coffee too. But isn't free hotel coffee always terrible?
- hot tub and pool: nice hot tub with actual hot water and jets. Small details, I know, but important. Stayed open until 10, too-- nice touch.
- nicely landscaped grounds: perhaps the hotel's best feature, it's very nicely landscaped, with a lush interior courtyard. I liked walking around this place, which can't be said for most of Orange County.
- helpful staff. I really, really liked the front desk and breakfast staff here. Twice they printed out maps for me that saved me having to use highways ala google maps when surface roads save time during rush hours. Of course, the staff can't fix the exercise machines, but that's not really their fault.
-computer with printer: just one, but it was fast, free and easy to use and print. very, very appreciated!
CONs:
- exercise room is a joke. The motion-sensitive lights are sparse and dim, and worse, they kept going out during my workout-- scary! Had to keep the TV on just to have enough light to see. The one elliptical trainer had an old "out of order" sign on it and a call to the front desk made it sound like they had no idea it was even broken, and had no plans in place to fix it. This left a single treadmill, a single bicycle, and a single multi-weight machine as the sum total of the exercise room. This room could use a big, big improvement, and if I had the extra money I might stay somewhere else because of it. But I don't, so I'm here.
-stuffy, poor ventilation. Some rooms have balconies that let you open the entire sliding door. If you want fresh air, consider requesting a room with a balcony, otherwise you will have a stuffy room.
-noisy mini-fridge. Good thing I use earplugs or this would have kept me up.
OVERALL
I would probably return here as it is a good value for the money, but if I could find a place near the price with a decent exercise room, it might be worth switching. If that's not an issue for you, then this a good place. It's also nicer than the surrounding hotels except for the Embassy Suites, but that place is usually $50 more per night.

Room Tip: Request a dividing wall for a real suite, and a balcony if you want good ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupoftheday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    91
    41
    23
    23
See reviews for
101
48
31
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had stayed in the Quality suites recently during my business trip & found it a waste of moeny. The service is poor, the rooms are not designed with any sense (Wash basin right in front of bed), not enough plug points in the room, very small bathroom with poor fittings & carpentry. The Hotel does not take cash payment which adds to the problems for people like us. Add to that the WiFi service is poor to say the least. The Breakfast is good but lacks the Options that standard B&Bs offer although the food is good. Overall I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: "Try rooms near the Pool area"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvankar_0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at the Quality Suites for over 20 years. It is our favorite place to stay when visiting Southern California. We have always had a very clean room and great service and the hot breakfast is one of the best around. All of the people who work there are very courteous and efficient. The beds and linens are very nice and the rooms are very comfortable. We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dennis194967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is a nice hotel. It is not a resort hotel or anything, but it offers pleasant surroundings of trees, grass and a heated swimming pool. The grounds are kept very well groomed. The hotel room was clean and up to date. It was roomy for my wife, myself and our daughter. There was a TV in the living quarters room and the bedroom. So my daughter slept in the fold out couch bed that was in the living room. Both TV's were up to date flat screen TV's. There was plenty of drawer space for clothing in both rooms with a closet as well in the main bedroom. Plenty of lamps and lights in the room. The room was quiet and we had no problems sleeping. Once in a while you could hear a jet coming in for a landing in the distance for John Wayne Airport, but the planes seemed to stop coming in around 10:00pm to 11:00 pm. The noise was faint along with the faint noise of the 55 Freeway which is some distance away as well. The staff were all courteous and friendly. Check in was quick as was the checking out a few days later.

Breakfast was very good. Hot breakfast of eggs, bacon, pancakes etc... which is freshly prepared upon giving your order. There is also a choice of cereals. Plenty of fruit (apples and oranges), donuts (different types). Choice of milk, apple juice, orange juice, coffee, tea or hot chocolate. The breakfast room is medium sized and gets filled after 7:30 am. There is a large screen TV in the breakfast room. Breakfast is served from 6 am to 9:30 am. I went to breakfast at 6 am and the breakfast area only had myself and two other guests eating breakfast. However, after 7:30, the place fills up.

It can be challenging to find parking late at night. We arrived back from Disneyland around midnight on Friday and there were only two parking spaces left. The parking spaces are tight if you have full sized pickup truck (i.e. Chevy Silverado, Dodge Ram, Ford 150 etc..) I had to back up a couple of times to get into the space straight and not be at an angle.

There are couple of fast food places nearby along with a couple of gas stations. Most of the area is businesses and industrial park. There is a Target mall area in nearby Irvine which is about a 5-10 minute drive from the hotel.

Drive Times: Disneyland- 15 minutes by freeway, 25 minutes via surface streets. Newport/Balboa Beaches -15 minutes via 55 Freeway and surface streets to the beach.

Overall, good quality for the money. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get an inner building room which does not face out to the 55 Freeway. It would be quieter. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSULBgraduate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Extremely not happy with my family's (husband & 2 year old son) stay here this weekend. Booked this hotel based on reviews about how clean/quiet/great breakfast near the airport for a decent price. What we received was a room that had blood on the pillow cases and a vague statement that we can speak with the general manager on Monday before we check out. We have been moved rooms, but how am I supposed to know if the linens have been cleaned or not? Really not pleased at all.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment about your stay at the Quality Suites John Wayne Airport.

During your stay you checked in to your room at 12 noon. The blood stain was reported to the desk clerk at 9:30pm. The desk clerk noted when the pillow was brought to the desk the blood was still fresh on the pillow. Blood stains that sit for a long period of time normally turn brown and is harden. Also, the room that you checked into was out of order for 4 days prior to your arrival in order to shampoo the carpet and get the room ready for rent. If there was blood on the pillow prior to your check in again would have turn brown and harden.

Once we were informed of the blood stain we promptly moved you to an upgraded room and gave you a discount for any inconvenience that you felt may have occurred.

Also, we have a 2 tier room inspection system in place before a room can be ready to rent to guests. Once the room is cleaned by a housekeeper the housekeeping supervisor inspects the room to verify if the room is ready to rent. After she verifies the room is ready to rent, then the Executive Housekeeper will inspect the room and verify the room is ready to rent.

Once again, thank you for taking time to comment about your stay at the Quality Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Of course I'm old so retro may not be the proper term. This was probably not a Quality Suites in the beginning, and it is now surrounded by other chain hotels. I could imagine this complex when it was maybe by itself in this area. Several buildings with a central pool area. My room, 360, was two floors above the reception area. The door opened onto a balcony walkway overlooking mature landscaping in the pool area. TVs in the living area and the bedroom. There was a small balcony off the bedroom that looked over the front entrance facade, across the parking lot and at another hotel. Not a bad view considering you are three miles from SNA airport 100 yards from an interstate. A heavy pocket door separates the suite rooms. The furniture was mostly mission style solid wood or nice veneers. The veneered pieces that had been chipped on the corners looked like they had been professionally repaired. The built ins had solid wood trim. While it was older, it was well maintained and clean. Clerk at check-in was very friendly and maintained a positive attitude while handling people without reservations and questionable payment plans and also manning the gift/snack shop. Breakfast was typical cold fare plus a made-to-order hot breakfast with choices of omelettes, meats, potatoes etc. Food was good, coffee was so-so.

Room Tip: 360 was quiet (occasional muffled jet sound) with good access to elevator, stairs, breakfast and fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadBob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The very first feeling was a mixed feeling. But, to be honest, this was after an almost 20 hours trip. A couple of days later, I have to say that this hotel is simple but comfortable and effective.

The staff is friendly and efficient. Rooms are large, comfortable and quiet.

I do recommend this place.

Nonetheless see you in 10 days for my last feelings.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Francois_Leloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you taking time to write a review of your stay. I understand that when coming to a new hotel sometimes guest can be a little apprehensive, especially when they have had a long drive and it’s a new property they are not familiar with. We are delighted to see that our hotel did meet your needs and everything was comfortable and effective during your stay. Once again, thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orange County Airport North
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County - Santa Ana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Orange County John Wayne Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport

Property: Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
Address: 2701 Hotel Ter, Santa Ana, CA 92705-5603 (Formerly Quality Suites John Wayne Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CW Suites hotel is an atrium-style, 177 all-suite hotel. Hotel offers a courtesy shuttle to John Wayne Orange County Airport, free wireless Internet access and on-site fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites John Wayne Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Country Inn And Suites - John Wayne Airport Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing