We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop on way into or out of airport”

Avila's El Ranchito
Ranked #25 of 690 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,340 reviews
1,158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Good place to stop on way into or out of airport”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

It is a few blocks off the highways, so you do not get the usual drive-by crowd. We had steak and chicken fajitas and the chicken asteca sald. It was all very good with the exception of the chicken being -s chicken can be – dry. Good flavors, good atmosphere (better than a in-and-out Mexican place), good service, good beer on tap.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, CA
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Not a good place for groups”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went for a birthday lunch and arrived at 11:30 to avoid some of the lunch rush. It didn't matter. Our waiter was rude, rushed us to the point he wrote down wrong orders, and the service still took 2 hours. This place was no bueno for us, as we filled up on chips and salsa for a just ok, over priced lunch

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank callmemochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, fun entertainment”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We enjoyed the food and the entertainment on the Friday night that we visited El Ranchito. Our waitress was very helpful, attentive, and accommodating. The mariachi band was great. My only suggestion is for the restaurant to use less salt in their recipes, expecially the rice and beans. I am not able to eat much salt due to health issues. Most mexican restaurants use way too much salt.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cascadesfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level 6 Contributor
550 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“The ambiance of this restaurant is lovely, especially at a holiday”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Our nonprofit had a function at Avila's El Ranchito Restaurant at the Santa Ana location on First Street. It was wonderful. The restaurant was decorated for Christmas and so we had to do no decorations ourselves. There was tons of parking, so the attendees had no difficulty with that issue. The dinner was buffet, so we didn't have to worry about the wait-persons struggling through the tables. The food was very very good, and the vegetables tasted especially fresh and crisp. The restaurant is laid out with a long hallway and then individual rooms off the hallway. Our group took up an entire room at the end. But as we walked through the restaurant we could tell that no matter where you sat, if you came here alone, you would not feel lost in a cavernous room . . . each place had an intimate feel to it. We enjoyed our evening very much.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than you think!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This place looks run down but it's comfortable and the food is great. I visit here frequently because my in-laws LOVE this place. They frequently call on Sundays and say meet us at El Ranchito! I like to,order from the specials. My sister in law gets the same thing EVERY time but I like to go with the specials. I am rarely disappointed. All in all a good value and a good dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loopykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avila's El Ranchito also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Orange, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Avila's El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing