We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rebuilt Mission”

Old Mission Santa Barbara
Book In Advance
More Info
US$169.00*
and up
Santa Barbara, Solvang and Hearst Castle Day Trip from Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this historic Franciscan mission that features twin bell towers and lovely gardens.
coronado
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Rebuilt Mission”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There was some interesting information about the Chumash Indians and their sculpture, but this is not one of the most interesting missions.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CoronadoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,142
    736
    200
    25
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful mission”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It had been 12 years since my last visit. It is such a beautiful mission. We took the kids, and they appreciated the beauty. The weather was wonderful. The mission is well preserved and worth visiting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Mission Santa Barbara is a beautiful place with peaceful gardens and grounds. We went Sunday morning while church was in session, so we were unable to get a close look at the church itself. The cemetery area has a huge fig tree that is very impressive. The museum is interesting with lots of artifacts and history about the area. Since the mission is up in the hills, there is a great view overlooking Santa Barbara itself.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in Ventura but we wanted to go to Santa Barbara to see this Mission. It was amazing to see this living history. The grounds were beautiful! We had a great time going threw the tour. When we were in the chapel it was amazing, the paintings and the statues. They have done such a great job keeping this Mission in such great shape.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azgirl18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely even after closed”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We got there after 5:00 closing so could only walk around the front. Still lovely and great views. Hopefully we get back there one day and take the tour!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mom23lads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mission Santa Barbara also viewed

 
 

Been to Old Mission Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing