We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love breakfast”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love breakfast”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Simpson House Inn, in our experience is hard to find at night as we arrived at night. A handy GPS might be helpful for night travellers. I love Simpson House Inn's warm breakfast which comes with delicious pancakes and tea. Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhengwei84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    44
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
419
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Simpson House is a rarity: a AAA 5 diamond B and B. Having never stayed in a hotel/inn at this lofty level, I wondered what got them there, and here's what I found out:
No check-in. You are welcomed at your car by the inn keeper who shows you to your room;
Grounds that would put Eden to shame;
A tastefully decorated room with a comfortable bed, soft sheets, and downy pillows;
A deck larger than my living room with padded teak furniture;
Four kinds of wine to taste;
Delicious house made appetizers;
A scrumptious vegetarian breakfast with flaky rolls and pastries;
Breakfast in your room, no problem (in fact, there were no problems whatsoever);
A library chock full of videos and books;
A warm and inviting common room;
Immaculate;
High end notions;
Fluffy towels;
A staff who live to make the guests feel comfortable, pampered, and treasured;
Easy walks to downtown Santa Barbara and great restaurants.
It isn't cheap, but you do get what you pay for.
Warning: the bathroom was small which was OK for my wife and me, but a large person might feel hemmed in. If this could be a problem, call and ask for a room with a larger bath.
Also, the upper rooms in the main house require a climb up a somewhat narrow flight of stairs.
So what makes a 5 star inn? Stay at the Simpson House and find out.

Room Tip: Look at the website, then give them a call. We stayed in the sun room, and it was warm and sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sayitok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The service was really great-the staff were extremely helpful and offered advice for our travels. They also made an effort to get to know us-nicest people ever! The breakfast was also very very delicious. It was a pity that we were not able to try the hordeurves and wine. We stayed in the Mary Simpson room (which did not have an attached bathroom but it did not bother us) which was cozy, comfortable, and great for a romantic night stay. Deserves each and every one of its 5 stars! We'll definitely stay here again if in Santa Barbara! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Hayloft Suite on the second floor in the old carriage house that has been restored and beautifully decorated. The room was charming, very comfortable and private. There are lots of windows bringing in the natural light during the day and we used the window shutters for privacy in the evening. There are French doors that open up to a patio so you can laze around and enjoy the elevated view of the garden while you have a glass of local California wine.
The Inn is located in walking distance to the ocean, historic downtown Santa Barbara, museums, shopping, restaurants, parks and historic sites. Walking was one way for us to be able to explore.
This stately Italianate Victorian Inn has the best of amenities including an area to wash your vehicle. Who knew? These are some of the reasons why this Inn has attained the AAA 5 Diamond rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

From booking to check-in to departure to everything in between, the Simpson House was classy, efficient, and luxurious. We stayed in the Greenwich Cottage which had a wonderful private patio, fireplace, and whirlpool tub. All of the snacks, drinks, and meals were excellent; there was something for everyone. You could be as social or as private as you liked. Everyone pretty much kept to themselves the weekend we were there which was fine with us. They will take care of everything for you - massages, dinner reservations (though we did have a little hiccup on that - no big deal and they made other accommodations), tourist help, etc. We can't wait to go back for relaxation, excellent hospitality, and quiet retreat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRonnyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

If you need to step back from the cares of the world for a while, this is the place to rest. The lovely, quiet garden setting welcomes. The staff are all solicitous and able to meet needs unequivocally. Each room has an individual decor more like staying with a dear friend than a commercial lodging. Fine food availability for breakfast, afternoon tea, before dinner and even delicious desserts in the evening add to the value. I can not imagine a more relaxing place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose the room to suit your preferences. Victorian decor in the main house or other alternatives i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blamboley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My daughter and I make a point of having a girls' trip to the Simpson House in Santa Barbara every year. The rooms are very comfortable, afternoon tea or pre-dinner sherry is lovely, and breakfast is excellent. The staff makes one most comfortable, whether in making dinner or spa arrangements or just providing a relaxing atmosphere in the living room or garden. Close to State Street, but calm and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
732 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Property: Simpson House Inn
Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing