We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a delightful introduction to B&B stay for us. Our room was small, which was indicated ahead of time. Best just for one night for us. Service was wonderful, staff accommodating, setting lovely!

Room Tip: If it is in the budget and the stay is more than one night, opt for a room outside of the main house...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Simpson House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We found the Simpson House Inn to be a beautiful setting, nice staff, and were excited upon our arrival that we had found such a nice place to stay. Imagine our shock when we were awoken the next morning to the sound of chain saws, grinders and wood chippers. When we asked how much longer the noise would continue, we were told "most of the day". Staying at the facility was not possible as it was too loud. Since we had not been told of the planned tree trimming (not when we booked, nor the evening before as we checked in) we had no alternate plan. We had planned a relaxing day on our deck. The room had a beautiful deck and we were saddened we were unable to enjoy ourselves. The staff offered us a 6% reduction in our bill, and that was frustrating as well (such a small amount considering we were unable to use our room during the day we were staying there). The prices were quite high we thought, and we had the expectation that everything would be perfect. They should have let us know and or scheduled a maintenance day. Putting their profits before the comfort of their guests is simply not acceptable at these prices.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Sun Room.
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsonHouseInn, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Friend,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We wish to extend a most sincere apology for the situation you experienced during your stay. We certainly understand your frustration and should have informed you ahead of time about the work being done. As you know our property sits amongst an acre of English gardens. To keep those gardens in pristine shape and appearance, we’re required to do some routine maintenance on them from time to time. We do our best to schedule the work during a time that is typically least intrusive to our guests, which in this case was the middle of the week after 10am. Unfortunately it happened to coincide with your stay. In the future we will share this information with guests ahead of time so as to properly set expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Located in a quite residential area of Santa Barbara is the crown jewel of inns, the Simpson House Inn. It is conveniently located one and a half blocks from State Street. Every detail from the beautiful and comfortable accomodations to the superb food is lovingly provided by a professional staff. Patty, Kerri and Gillian provided us with exceptional service. In the morning we sat on the porch and enjoyed a full gourmet breakfast. Upon request they served us a pot of hot chocolate. The sumptuous Mediterranean hors-d'oeuvres and wine tasting are featured in the evening. It was so extensive that we did not find it necessary to go out for dinner. We enjoyed Netflix in our room. We are looking forward to returning to the Simpson House Inn in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjhaardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for only one night on a Friday. We made the reservations on the same day and could only afford the Mary Simpson Room. The room included a small table, two chairs, an armoire, a small refrigerator, small t.v with Netflix, a sink, and a view of the parking lot. The bed on their website states it is a queen, but it felt more like a full (or even smaller)….It was a very small, but nice room with a detached bathroom right across the hallway. The bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. Basically we had a toilet and a tiny shower. Unfortunately the tiles in the shower were not 100% clean..some mildew on the walls…When we walked in the room, there was a card with our names on it and two very delicious chocolate cupcakes. Nice touch! This boutique hotel was a Victorian estate I believe built in the late 1800s. Beautiful and tranquil grounds... What made our stay special was the staff, especially the innkeeper, and the delicious food. They serve a complimentary breakfast and evening wine tasting with appetizers. I would definitely return, but would stay in another room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Love the Simpson House! My husband and I have been to some really special places and we agree the Simpson House is one of our absolute favorites. We've had the pleasure of staying at the Simpson House a few times and each time we've stayed in a different room/cottage, each one has always been super cozy, romantic, and clean. Every morning we would sit on the veranda, sip coffee, and enjoy the yummy complementary gourmet breakfast. The gardens surrounding the property are always beautiful and perfectly manicured. The staff are consistently very friendly, helpful, and attentive. And the location is incredible, it's nestled right in the heart of Santa Barbara, within walking distance to some amazing restaurants, shopping, and the must-see Santa Barbara
Courthouse. We would definitely recommend the Simpson House to our friends and the next time we are in Santa Barbara, this is where we will stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Simpson House Inn was a big disappointment. I have stayed in many inns and have to say that for the price this one is sub-par. The entire inn has a very musty smell and caused allergies. The room was extremely small, about twice the size of the bed, and the bathroom extremely tiny, twice the size of the toilet. The food was very mediocre. For breakfast we requested eggs over well 2 times and never got them...only sunny side up. When our plans had to change unexpectedly and we needed to check out one day early (from 4 nights to 3 nights), even though we asked 24 hours in advance, they were not accommodating at all and required us to pay the full amount. We also asked for information about neighboring wineries and was told they would let us know....but they never did. Good things about the inn...the Kiehls bath products, the private deck for our room, and the location close to State St. Would not go back and would not recommend to friends. Try El Encanto Hotel.....elegant and beautiful views!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsonHouseInn, General Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Simpson House during your recent visit to Santa Barbara and for sharing your feedback. We are always disappointed when a guest does not enjoy their stay for any reason.

We offer a wide variety of room types in terms of style and size, which is one of the characteristics that our frequent guests love most. The Sun Room is described on our website as cozy and both the written description and images reflect that. The main feature of the room is the spacious private deck, which along with the rate, make it a favorite of returning guests.

While we understand that plans change and sympathize with your frustration, our 7 day cancellation policy is communicated clearly throughout the reservation and confirmation process. When plans do change, we make every effort to rebook the room so guests are not responsible. However in this case, on such short notice, we were unable to do so. With just 15 rooms I hope you can understand the need for such a policy.

I understand your frustration and apologize that we did not follow through your request for nearby wineries. This was an oversight on our part and definitely not our normal level of service. We do our best to make it easy for guests to quickly find information about activities and things to do, including nearby wineries, with our information rack and our customized information on Great Walks & Hikes and A Suggested Morning Walk to name a few.

Thank you again for your feedback and I will be sure to share it with our staff. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to reach out to me directly at gilleanw@simpsonhouseinn.com. Thank you again and I look forward to the possibility of hearing from you.

Gillean Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My sister and her husband came out to visit me in San Diego, with a planned three-night road trip to SB. I wanted to find a nice place with real Santa Barbara character that was also walking distance to State Street, the Mission, etc. The Simpson House met our standards every way. It's not inexpensive, but you feel like you are getting complete value for your money when staying there. The grounds and rooms are beautiful, and the staff is just so nice and attentive, especially Kerry who helped us every nice with excellent restaurant recommendations and reservations. And if you like to walk, the neighborhood surrounding the Simpson House is great for that - wonderful old homes, lovely scenery everywhere. I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cryfireSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £266 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing