We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Simpson House Inn is one of my all-time favorite destinations for a quick get-away or even for an extended stay. I have traveled all around the world, but the SHI truly ranks 'up there' with perfection. I strongly recommend it in every way from the beautiful, healthy, included breakfast, the lovely afternoon appetizers and wine (also included), the afternoon cookies and tea (included), evening popcorn (included), not to mention the lucious amenities in the rooms and the incredible employees. The gardens are gorgeous, as are the fountains. The Victoria house and property is just what I hope heaven is!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

delightful one night stay in lovely santa barbara. 2nd time staying here at the simpson house. all the modern conveniences like internet, room fridge with all the stately charm of a historical home. staff are super accomodating

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank michael o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
56
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Truly excellent service and attention to detail. The Simpson House is a gem and deserves each of it's 5 diamonds. The included breakfast and snacks were outstanding! Although it was not inexpensive, the service and grounds make this a true value as we felt special staying at this charming Victorian home, enjoying the gorgeous gardens and company of the staff.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

easily SURPASSED our expectations.

Kerry was the most amazing host who greeting us in front of the main home as soon as we drove up. She graciously showed us around the grounds, introduced us to our room, described the menu's etc. She was SO sweet.

The grounds are STUNNING. I wanted to sit under the gorgeous magnolia tree all day/night. We didn't even leave to watch the fireworks as originally planned~ enjoyed wine and mingled with other couples on the most comfortable garden chairs.

the room is FIVE STAR chabby shic/ victorian. The tub was devine and the bed/pillows were HEAVEN. Tall vaulted ceilings ~ just perfect.

Breakfast in the morning on the patio was glorious ~ DELICIOUS and served on the most stunning fine china - Kerry and the Chef even accommodated my vegan needs and made all the dishes based on our requests.

We stayed at the freestanding cottage that didn't share rooms with anyone so it was so quiet and serene.

100% coming back.

xoxo ~ melineh/ Matt

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank melineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My fiance is not very fond of B&B's, or he wasn't before we stayed at The Simpson House. He is now very much in love with the B&B charm. The Simpson House is the only 5 Diamond B&B in the United States and it is very apparent. From the moment you arrive the service is top notch. They know how to cater to your needs without being over bearing. The rooms have lush bedding, Kiehl's toiletries, and you're welcomed with homemade tarts and a welcome note. They'll help organize any activity that you're interested in (most likely wine tasting) and are especially accommodating of food allergies. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

From the moment you arrive you are transported back in time to tranquility and service that you don't get anymore. We had the Robert and Julia room and it was perfect. The bed was so comfortable and the balcony awesome. Has umbrellas so you can enjoy reading a book there. You really don't need a room with a balcony though as there are many places to sit and enjoy the place. The breakfast was delicious and the wine and spread in the afternoon amazing. Do yourself a favor and just book. Great service.

Room Tip: Robert and Julia Room awesome with own balcony but you really don't need a balcony as many place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAXbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It is more difficult to write a review about the perfect place because there is less to say! Suffice to say this Inn is perfection - simply that. If you are going to be in Santa Barbara it has to be on your list. The house is very special - you wish you lived there from the moment you walk in. The décor, appointment of rooms, the garden, the staff, the food......everything is wow. We had a small room but its size was irrelevant as everything was so perfect, the magazines, books and DVDs were a great addition. The single most important thing to me is cleanliness and Simpson House gets a AAA rating on that score. The old style bathrooms have character, work beautifully and are places you want to spend time in. The bed linen is top quality and the beds are super comfortable. Our room had a huge private terrace and we could opt for a private breakfast each morning. In the early afternoon the Inn offer complimentary wines, cordials, and small bite sized delicacies from their menu. Effectively if you are so inclined this could be a very nice lunch!! The Inn have complimentary bicycles to explore the beautiful Santa Barbara area. I could go on......just don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrock39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,074 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £242 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing