We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reason why this is the number 1 hotel”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

There is a reason why the Simpson house inn is rated the number 1 hotel in santa Barbara! Were were due to stay 1 night here on our travels down the west coast. We arrived and were greeted by a lovely lady who took us on a tour of the grounds and the house. We were told that there were canapés and wine which we could help ourselves to in the main house.
We had booked the garden room which was totally amazing! When we entered our room there was a little welcome note with a couple of home made cup cakes which was a lovely touch along with your menu selection for breakfast... You can also opt to have it on your own little garden area! The hotel itself is in an amazing location for food and shopping. The grounds are immaculate and stunning. If you get time venture into the lounge area and have a read of their book "the history of simpson house inn". Upon checking out we were given a little pack of postcards which are hand drawn by the Disney illustrator as he stays there often. Amazing hotel, staff, service and location! Beautiful :)

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this charming inn right off upper State Street. The staff could not have been more delightful. All the women who work here are absolutely wonderful. Our room was comfy but not luxurious. Shower was tiny and the bathroom was pretty bare-bones but serviceable. We did have a large moth and quite a few ants and silverfish in the bathroom, which made things feel a bit more rustic than we would have ideally liked. As you might expect in a historic building, soundproofing between rooms is minimal. We certainly heard voices and footfalls from the room upstairs. Breakfast was delicious and the nightly wine and hors d'oeuvres were spot on.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are likely to be quieter since you won't hear neighbors' walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely time. Were greeted outside by Barbara before she took us for a tour of the property ending up in our own room. The room was great, and my girlfriend could not stop talking about the linens. Complementary wine every evening and a great breakfast in the morning.
I will reccomend this to all my friends that are going to or through Santa Barbara.
We will definitially stay here if we ever come to Santa Barbara or California again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arild Rune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Simpson House Inn is one of my all-time favorite destinations for a quick get-away or even for an extended stay. I have traveled all around the world, but the SHI truly ranks 'up there' with perfection. I strongly recommend it in every way from the beautiful, healthy, included breakfast, the lovely afternoon appetizers and wine (also included), the afternoon cookies and tea (included), evening popcorn (included), not to mention the lucious amenities in the rooms and the incredible employees. The gardens are gorgeous, as are the fountains. The Victoria house and property is just what I hope heaven is!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

delightful one night stay in lovely santa barbara. 2nd time staying here at the simpson house. all the modern conveniences like internet, room fridge with all the stately charm of a historical home. staff are super accomodating

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank michael o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
56
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Truly excellent service and attention to detail. The Simpson House is a gem and deserves each of it's 5 diamonds. The included breakfast and snacks were outstanding! Although it was not inexpensive, the service and grounds make this a true value as we felt special staying at this charming Victorian home, enjoying the gorgeous gardens and company of the staff.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

easily SURPASSED our expectations.

Kerry was the most amazing host who greeting us in front of the main home as soon as we drove up. She graciously showed us around the grounds, introduced us to our room, described the menu's etc. She was SO sweet.

The grounds are STUNNING. I wanted to sit under the gorgeous magnolia tree all day/night. We didn't even leave to watch the fireworks as originally planned~ enjoyed wine and mingled with other couples on the most comfortable garden chairs.

the room is FIVE STAR chabby shic/ victorian. The tub was devine and the bed/pillows were HEAVEN. Tall vaulted ceilings ~ just perfect.

Breakfast in the morning on the patio was glorious ~ DELICIOUS and served on the most stunning fine china - Kerry and the Chef even accommodated my vegan needs and made all the dishes based on our requests.

We stayed at the freestanding cottage that didn't share rooms with anyone so it was so quiet and serene.

100% coming back.

xoxo ~ melineh/ Matt

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank melineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,064 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
862 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £241 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing