We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint gardens and home - top-notch service”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We loved our stay at Simpson House! Everyone was incredibly thoughtful and nice - from getting us excellent dinner reservations, to the wine tasting nightly. The house was adorable and the service the best. Highly recommended. We will definitely be staying there again when back in town.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Simpson House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed in the Tack room which was spacious, charming and comfortable with a beautiful view of the serene and lovely grounds. The overall location is ideal. We walked to parks, all up and down State Street and to the mission. There are many great restaurants within walking distance. The staff is so friendly and welcoming. Afternoon appetizers and wine and morning breakfast were all delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mamma-V2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The Simpson House Inn is a magical place. Caught in time this Victorian house has been developed with love and care; from the gardens to the bed linen, from the breakfasts to the quotations with the morning papers, from the personal menu to the personal service, it just all works really well and you can tell everyone cares.
It is worth every penny, nothing is any trouble and the people who work there build a relationship with evey single guest.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Elegant garden view,comfortable and clean room , kind and in time services impressed us a lot. The small present of a set of hand printed garden view cards are quite lovely. Simpson House Inn did make my husband and me have a very nice staying experience. We are really willing of recommending this elegant House Inn to our friends and all travelers!

Room Tip: Corner suites are quiet and sunny!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Luling_Xu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Simpson House for 1 night during a long weekend in the Santa Barbara area. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts throughout our travels as we love the charm and local insight they provide. The Simpson House Inn was a step above all the rest. The small touches and attention to detail make it worthy every penny. We arrived during the evening wine and appetizer hour and were quickly taken to our room so that we had enough time to get a glass of wine and enjoy the gardens. The inn keepers are friendly, attentive and helpful for anything you may need during your stay and assisted in recommending dining options based on dietary needs. We opted to enjoy breakfast the following morning on our beautiful second story balcony and the food was incredible with so many small touches such as flowers brought to our table and table linens. We took advantage of the on site bikes and spent the day cruising the beach and downtown. We loved every minute of our stay and will make a point of coming back to this little gem!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank utahlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a B&B in the Santa Barbara area--look no further, you have found it! It is a delight! The staff is warm and accommodating. The circa 1874 property has been beautifully restored and is meticulously maintained. We spent most of one afternoon lounging on chaises under their trees but you could also relax on the home's veranda or lawn's gazebo. All of the meals and horsdoeuvres were wonderful. We stayed in Greenwich Cottage that was complete with stone fireplace & cozy window seat. The modern bathroom had plenty of light and came stocked with Kiehl toiletries. Simpson House's location is a special positive--State Street and some of Santa Barbara's finest restaurants are but a 10 minute walk. A lovely accommodation!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PShieldsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have been staying at the Simpson House since 1995, and have never been disappointed. The grounds are stunning, the rooms are gorgeous, the staff is warm and friendly and the service is second to none! You can walk just about anywhere you want to go in town, which makes the location very convenient. I've been here on romantic getaways, family get-togethers, for my mom's birthday, and with friends, and have absolutely loved it every time. Thank you Simpson House for helping me and my family make so many great memories!!!

Room Tip: The Parlor Room in the house is one of my favorites, and all the rooms outside the main house are am...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £266 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing