We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful traditional hotel - a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful traditional hotel - a great stay!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon tour of California. We were very impressed with the hotel all in all. It is a beautiful Victorian wooden building, with white picket fences and gorgeous gardens with tables and chairs and loungers etc. - understated luxury. We stayed in the main house, but you can also stay in little cottages in the grounds. The room was a decent size, with a nice comfortable bed. It is perhaps a tiny bit dated, but it sort of suits the place. The breakfast was excellent - and it was until 11am, so you didn't have to rush in the mornings. Also, they did a lovely complimentary wine and cheese hour in the early evening, and milk and oreo cookies later on. The staff were really helpful and accommodating - we had messed up our booking and booked for January instead of May (!), but they couldn't have been more forgiving and helpful. You can easily walk into town from here - a few blocks from the main street - and the town itself is very picturesque, with lots of lovely restaurants and bars, and a big long beach and pier. The hotel itself has a very nice looking restaurant attached to it. We didn't try it, but we heard from others it was good. Also worth noting there was plenty of car parking at the hotel. We could easily have stayed here for longer. We would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    196
    70
    26
    11
See reviews for
73
350
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have just spent six nights at The Upham in Santa Barbara and it was perfect for my purposes. My trip was a mixture of a group meeting and a personal stay and it proved charming for both.
The hotel has retained a Victorian period country house feel, while being within easy walking distance of downtown Santa Barbara and State Street.

It comprises the original house and a number of cottages and meeting rooms in a lovely quiet garden where the birdsong is the loudest noise. While our meetings were not held at the hotel there were many places in the gardens, the main house and the gardens for quiet conversations. The meeting rooms in the cottages would have been fine for break out sessions.

There is on-site parking, but if you do not have a car, or don't want to use it, it is very easy to get to public transport. The State Street electric shuttle buses from the beach terminate a block or so away from the hotel.

There is an on-site restaurant, but the normal room rate includes a good buffet breakfast, fruit, soft drinks and coffee through the day, wine and cheese in the afternoon and milk and biscuits as a night cap.

When I return to Santa Barbara the Upham will certainly be my first choice of hotel. It's middling prices seemed very fair and the charm never wore off.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geomaticist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had not been to Louies Restaurant at the Upham Hotel in about 10 years but when invited to attend a business lunch I recalled a fabulous chicken in puff pastry dish I had eaten there in the past. I was surprised to see it was still on the menu and ordered it again, wondering if my memory of it would hold true. I was not disappointed and decided that I would go back again since there were so many other wonderful dishes on the menu that I wanted to try. A very relaxing atmosphere to sit out on the porch and have lunch. Weather is almost always perfect and this is a quiet restaurant and hotel and is recommended for people who want a nice getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJClarkAtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Upham is a pleasant and friendly place to stay in a great location close to the heart of Santa Barbara, but far enough away to be quiet and removed from traffic. The rooms vary being an older hotel, but are pleasant and comfortable. The staff are helpful and the grounds of the hotel are a nice place to relax. It certainly makes a nice place to spend a few days and a change from the normal chain hotels. Breakfast is tasty, although the small breakfast area is undersized for the number of rooms in the hotel, although you can take breakfast on a tray back to the rooms or out in to the garden, so not a big deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDONTOUR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Very friendly hotel. Location is excellent-many fabulous restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Grounds are well kept and peaceful. It is vintage so if you are looking for a modern recently built hotel and ammenities this may not be the place for you. For all who love history and want a comfortable, relaxing and lovely stay you will enjoy the Hotel Upham!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Yes, vintage can be charming. But, there does come a time when some updating is in order. For those of us detail oriented, there is some definate paint touch-up needed and some of the surfaces needed some deep cleaning. The shower in our room needed re-grouting and one of the handles on the bathroom sink leaked. In addition, the late afternoon cheese and crackers are a tub of cheese spread with an assortment of crackers, and the cookies they talk about in the evening are a plate of Oreos. I will say the staff is friendly and we did not have any problems, I would just like to see this beautiful property have a bit more upkeep for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMFERGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I've been at a dozen places in Santa Barbara over the years, from the ultra-high end to a motel, and this is the only place that I've come back to. It has a historic main house with probably a half-dozen modern small buildings on the property, which also has a lovely garden. The rooms are a bit small, the TVs are old, and the sink in the bathroom is 8 inches too low. But the rooms are immaculate, quiet and pleasant. In the morning, you can have your breakfast either indoors or in the garden, where you can also have your wine/cheese/fruit in the evening and your cookies and milk at night (all included). I really like the fact that while it's on a quiet side street, you are only a couple of blocks from the main drag - State Street - so you can walk to the many restaurants and shops a few minutes away.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing