We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Retreat - Upham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2008

From the minute that we got to the Upham, we knew that we had made the right choice (we had looked at every hotel in Santa Barbara & none of them seemed good). The hotel front-desk was very courteous & we got to our room in no time. The room was just like we had wanted with the fireplace & the unique antique style. The grounds themselves were very beautiful (minus the parking disaster) & contributed to the romantic retreat. The only complaint that we had was regarding the booking....we had called a few days before our visit & were told that the Penthouse at their sister B&B across the street was available, so we booked that....only to get a phone call the day before to say that it was double-booked and we were the second.

That said, on our way out, we checked out the master suite at the Upham & that is where we will stay next time as it adds a whole other realm of beauty along with romance. (the bathroom is absolutely incredible - extra large separate stand-up shower & a jacuzzi clawfoot tub)

We have already made our minds up that we are going to become annual visitors of the Upham for our anniversary, with plans to stay in either the garden cottages (what we did this year) or the master suite.

To conclude, this is definetely a nice place for a couple to stay, however, we would not recommend it for a family or a business traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingPageFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2008

a very nice hotel (or large B&B). staff was excellent (especially the evening fellow who was pleasent and accomodating). Room was quite nice. Only complaint was parking was difficult because so many locals were attending a meeting there (and parked at the hotel). Very close to the main drag in town (State Street) and an easy walk to many interesting sights. We'd stay again!

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank reviewer613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

This hotel is rather a Bed&Breakfast, although they apply hotel rates ...
The major advantage is its location in the center of Santa Barbara, just around the corner of State Street.

The services are limited : the restaurant is not part of the hotel and hotel guests have difficulties reserving a table...; the breakfast is very limited; my room was basic and the bathroom needed an urgent refurbishing !

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Fernand_Hollevoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I stayed at the Upham Hotel for a business retreat. It is a lovely property - a cross between a hotel and a B&B. The location is great - very close walking distance to all the stores. The rooms are all different and mine was very victorian. I was in the main part of the house. The food is great! We have been here twice in a row and I wouldn't mind going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

The Upham was a disappointment. The staff was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. When we asked for an extra comforter (for our friend who was sleeping on the fold out couch) they told us they didn't have any. At check out, we mentioned to the manager that it might be nice to provide a comforter for the couch bed. She chastised us for not requesting one and informed us that of course they have extras. Even when we explained that we had asked the night manager for one she made it seem that it was our fault for not asking different people each day. There were other interactions that I won't list but I'd have to say that there service was the worst I've ever experienced. I've stayed at many B&Bs and Inns. The thing that makes them special is the personal touch, freindliness and pampering. I've had much better service in chain hotels that are half the cost. With Santa Barbara offering so many choices for B&Bs and Inns, I'd reccommend staying somewhere else. There were some good things about the Upham so here it is: The grounds of the Upham were beautiful and we enjoyed eating the filling breakfast outside. The location was nice - close to state street. We walked up and down State St. each night and even walked to the pier (which was a bit of a walk but we liked getting some exercise). The evening wine was nice but they should improve their "cookie" time. They put out stale Oreos and lukewarm milk. If they don't want to bake the cookies (like most inns do), at least provide a better quality of store-bought cookies. The parking lot is a bit of a challenge. If you have a large car - good luck. I had a camry and could barely squeeze in.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Leean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

This is a hotel with style. Check in staff were pleasant and very helpful, and made telephone calls for us with no charge. The gardens are delightful, and the public rooms and facilities are of a high standard. Our cottage was very small, and the furniture was a bit tired. The bathroom was clean but needed a refit. From the garden, our entrance took us into a small enclosed patio, which was rather like sitting in a shed - what a pity there was no view of the garden. (I'm sure this couid have been achieved with some trellis rather than a solid fence).
The hotel restaurant was very good, as was the buffet breakfast.
In spite of the criticisms, we would recommend this hotel, and next time would ask for an updated room with garden view.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredteacherstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

A very nice B&B in a very nice setting with wonderfully balmy Pacific Coast Mediterranean climate and charm. The location is within easy walking distance to a substantial choice of restaurants. The bed has a great pillow top mattress with down pillows and a real down comforter just lite enough to keep one toasty during the gloriously cool evening. Landscaping is well groomed and the staff are friendly. Wine and cheese are served from the liberal afternoon hours of 4-7:30. So whats the beef? Room 61 is on the corner of the Garden building just above the outdoor seating for breakfast that starts at 7:00. If you want to sleep in, request a room further back in the building toward the parking area. Close the windows? No way. No A/C. As I said, if there is a wrinkle I'll be given it. Same with supermarket lines. My cross to bear. Otherwise a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BugsyMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
579 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £169 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing