We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found this hotel quite by accident and we were very glad we did. It is the oldest continually operated hotel in Southern California and definitely harkens back to the days when hotels looked like homes and not huge boxes.

The rooms are located in several out buildings and surround a grassy courtyard. It does create an old timey and relaxed feel. Our room was had a private outdoor seating area with a table and a deck. It also had a water feature but it sounded more like a running facet versus a soothing brook so I found the power source and unplugged it. Sorry!

The breakfast is light but ample for a quick bite. The wine service at night is really fun as are the cookies and milk.

Parking can be a bit tight but it is free and the location, while certainly not scenic, is close to town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WCDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

To be clear this is the Country House and I cannot vouch for The Upham Hotel. Old American Charm - the hotel was very old and warn at the edges which is fine, I get it. After being shown a very dingy and stuffy room (Windsor) we transferred to the Penthouse which had a very sticky floor to the entrance - not the best of starts. However a few things such as four empty picture frames above the sofa, an uncleaned coffee machine, a wicker basket placed on the coffee table to hide large grease stains, breakfast served twice on a filthy wooden breakfast tray with remnants of gunk from past use, one small insufficient and noisy window box A/C unit - all these smaller things added up to just a very average to poor stay.

As a side note I would have to put the location as poor. The surrounding streets are very dimly lit. We walked a block away for dinner and after returning home just before midnight heard gunshots to find out the following morning that a knifeman had been shot by the cops right outside The Country House. Couldn't get out of this place quick enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A beautiful building, old Caifornia charm, very conveniently situated just off the top of State (and with parking). We were in the annexe and the room was very light, airy and comfortable.
There's a buffet breakfast provided with minimum service, and tea and coffee available all day. The restaurant was very busy, looked inviting and had a very pleasant verandah area for diners, but having arrived late we were unable to get a table. So it would be worth booking dinner in advance if, like us you will be arriving late in the day, and would enjoy an intimate meal al fresco. Having said that mine host was helpful in pointing us to a delightful and very reasonable restaurant on State, called Opal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clayton37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

What a wonderful time we had at the Upham! It is a lovely hotel with rich history. We stayed in the original part of the hotel. Our bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious! The wine in the afternoon was nice and the Oreos and milk at night was fabulous! The location is very convenient to downtown restaurants and shopping. You have to remember when you stay here that it is on the historic registry. That is a part of its' charm.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christyristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I loved staying at the Upham, so intimate and special!

PROS
- Lovely decor of common spaces and rooms (a jump back to charming old America!)
- Complimentary wine in the afternoon and tea/coffee/fruit all day
- Convenient location, 2 blocks from State Street
- Nice outdoor sitting areas

CONS
- Noisy AC
- The hotel's structure is quite old, so rooms are not sound-proof (a lot fo noise was coming from the corridor...).
- Bathroom/shower a little bit run-down

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although it is quite a walk to the beach, it was easy enough to reach on the bus, and we enjoyed being slightly away from the crowds. The Upham is old school and quaint so if you like everything brand new and shiny, it might not be for you. But we loved it and our stay was relaxing and comfortable. The public areas, both inside and the courtyard garden are very pretty and refreshments are served in the afternoon. We didn't have any trouble parking at the hotel but once at the hotel we didn't use the car much as Santa Barbara is such a marvellous place to stroll around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJS33N1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Country House and sad to say would never stay there again. Truly disappointed with the room. Dark, dingy and filthy! When we mentioned this to the reception at the hotel she said "we can send down some light bulbs to brighten it up". Quite an insult. They tried to tell us that the Country House was old and more antique than the hotel. Old but not a bit antique and just grubby. The bath taps were antique but I was able to scrape the ground in dirt off. The rug and chair covers old and dirty. Flowers which were almost dead and in very stagnant offensive smelling water. Very busy road which was quite disturbing. I thought the room was quite expensive, in comparison to many other stops on our trip, and by far the worst room we stayed in during our California holiday. In fairness they did refund half of the costs which helped a little. The breakfast was very good. The location very good for Main Street Santa Barbara and easy to walk to lots of restaurants and shops. If they could clean up the act on the room it would be a different story.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSantaBarbara, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

We are greatly surprised to receive this review. We have extended our most genuine apologies to this guest and are terribly sorry to hear of such disappointment in our property. Upon learning of this guest's extreme dissatisfaction, our staff offered to refund the guest's room deposit and to make alternate reservations here in Santa Barbara but they chose to stay with us instead. We were pleased to hear after their departure and further email communication, that they would be willing to give the Upham Hotel another try should their travels bring them back to Santa Barbara. We were shocked to see this review as we had thought the issue had been amicably resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £173 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing