We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B Extraordinaire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
manhattan beach, california
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“B&B Extraordinaire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Country House is a treat not to be missed. The venue of Santa Barbara is limitless what with the beach, the harbor (sailing and boat tours), State Street shopping, and Santa Ynez Valley wine tasting, mission tours, and some of the best restaurants in the state. The Country House is the gem among all this grandeur. Well manicured gardens, immaculate common rooms, and cozy personal bedrooms are all included but the coup de gras is Inn Keeper and chef extraordinaire, Maureen. Her baking skills are unparalleled. From the freshly prepared phyllo dough fingers at afternoon "wine time" to the midnight cookies to the incredible breakfast quiche and blitzes--well what can I say except Yum Yum. Don't miss Ms. Maureen and the Country House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    179
    65
    26
    11
See reviews for
68
326
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have stayed at the Upham multiple times. Once in the main house which was a pleasant stay. But this last time in one of the "charming" cottages (Room 70) was unacceptable and not pleasant. Upham management, you can't charge $300/night for a room with chipped paint on the walls, a bed with a mattress that felt like 20 years old, a room with furniture straight out of Sanford and Son. I am not kidding that I would have rather stayed in a Motel 6. The room was musty, dark and dingy. This place needs an overhaul! Stop up selling for something the property is not.

I am not knocking the staff here because they are very friendly and try hard. The main house and grounds are very nice. But the rooms are unacceptable even for country charm. You need to update them to charge for $300/night.

Sorry but this the truth. I never complain about things and have stayed at hotels all over the world both chain, upscale, B&Bs etc and I feel ripped off by this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Pleasant enough though small room in the Country House portion of the Upham. The room was pleasant though at night to reach "the Brighton room" it takes a few stumbles before you're far enough onto the rear of the property to trigger the motion sensor. I have 2 complaints: the woefully inadequate Internet whose signal continuously fluctuated making it virtually impossible to download any significant files if you were lucky enough to get on, and the restaurant. Had a very pleasant salad but the chicken piccata was beyond rubbery. When I mentioned this to the waiter he expressed regret but did not remove it off the bill despite my not eating more then a few bites.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if Internet is important and skip the restaurant! There are a number of excellen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousSeeker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at The Upham. After reading some of the negative reviews on this site before we left for Santa Barbara, I was a bit worried about being disappointed by the room, the breakfast, and the availability of parking. Instead, we were very pleased with our room, the breakfast was just right for our needs (oatmeal, toast, muffins, fruit, etc.), and the parking was a non-issue. (We were told that if there were no spaces left in the hotel complex, they would have sent us to an overflow lot.) It was quite warm while we were there and the air-conditioner worked like a champ. I had asked for a quiet room since I had read about the hotel being on a busy street. We were given a room on the 2nd floor of one of the interior buildings. It's hard to say how quiet the room would have been without the hum of the air-conditioner.

The grounds of the hotel are very attractive, with many seating options available for relaxing and sipping a glass of wine provided by the hotel in the late afternoon.

The location is excellent for its proximity to all the shopping and restaurants on and around State Street.

We would definitely stay at the Upham Hotel again.

We would definitely stay at The Upham Hotel again although it

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I just finished a driving trip up the California coast from San Diego up to Cambria. We agreed that the highlight was our stay at the Hotel Upham in Santa Barbara. Check in was quick and we were directed to our room in the Lincoln pavilion. The room was wonderful, high-ceilinged, and airy. The room was beautifully and comfortably furnished and had a huge bathroom. We deposited our luggage and then went back into the hotel proper where wine and cheese was being served. We each collected a glass of wine and some cheese to share and went out into the garden area. It was a warm summer evening. We sat on adirondack chairs placed in pairs around the central lawn that was shaded by large trees. We enjoyed our wine and really relaxed. It was heaven. We met a friend for dinner otherwise we would have loved to give the hotel restaurant a try. Back in our room that night, we appreciated that everything worked the way it should. The air-conditioning actually cooled the room (not typical of many of the hotels we stayed in on the trip). The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were...normal. Not those big thick monstrosities that you lean your head against, but real soft pillows. After a good night's sleep we enjoyed coffee and juice, again in the garden. Since we were meeting our friend for a late breakfast, we didn't partake of the pastries and fruit that was also provided. Our only regret was that we had only a one night stay. We certainly look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpokaneHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had never been to Santa Barbara before and blindly booked this lovely place as it was close to the wedding venue. Can't say enough good things about it .. Such a beautiful old house with gorgeous gardens and small cottages dotted around. Breakfast very included and comprehensive. There were lots of places to sit outside to eat. Newspapers in the lounge.. Most relaxing ! And attached is a first class small restaurant. Won't say any more as I don't want it to become too popular that I can't get a reservation next time!!

Room Tip: Our room was in the main house ,which I really liked, but the bed was a small double..or maybe just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helbecos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found this hotel quite by accident and we were very glad we did. It is the oldest continually operated hotel in Southern California and definitely harkens back to the days when hotels looked like homes and not huge boxes.

The rooms are located in several out buildings and surround a grassy courtyard. It does create an old timey and relaxed feel. Our room was had a private outdoor seating area with a table and a deck. It also had a water feature but it sounded more like a running facet versus a soothing brook so I found the power source and unplugged it. Sorry!

The breakfast is light but ample for a quick bite. The wine service at night is really fun as are the cookies and milk.

Parking can be a bit tight but it is free and the location, while certainly not scenic, is close to town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing