We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B you've never heard of”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best B&B you've never heard of”
Reviewed 13 January 2006

The Tiffany Country House is an (expensively) remodeled Victorian house, owned by the nearby Upham Hotel. There are 7 unique rooms, very clean and charming, with jacuzzi tubs and some with wood burning fireplaces.

Breakfast is a choice of two hot dishes, and a cold fruit and cereal buffet. Lovely veranda to dine in the morning sun. Evening wine and cheese buffet.

Easy walking distance to State Street and its restaurants.

We prefer the Tiffany over its sister property the Upham Hotel, which we also like but not as much as this charming place.

We are frequent vistors to Santa Barbara, and have stayed in many of its hotels, both large and small, expensive and not so expensive. We've decided this is the place.

Helpful?
11 Thank LLBean314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    196
    69
    26
    11
See reviews for
73
349
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2006

We enjoyed two nights at the Upham. The location is great to the main shopping area and a bit a of a walk to the beach. The service and room are were excellent. We loved the early eveing wine & cheese as well as the excellent continental breakfast. Give this place a try... I will go back!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dpat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2005

I just had dinner this week at the restaurant inside the Upham Hotel and don't get me wrong, the service once we got there was fine. The gentleman who helped us in the beginning was very nice and welcoming. However, after he served the food, he disappeared as well. Then we were stuck with the most rude server I had ever encountered. I am not actually sure if she was a server or one of the managers, since she was not in uniform, but whoever she was definitely needed an attitude adjustment. She cleared the table and when we asked for boxes for our leftovers she didn't acknowledge us at all. We were unsure if we were even going to get our leftovers back, but she did come through. When she finally handed us the check after about 20 minutes of waiting for that she ignored us completely and we ended up having to go to the bar to pay. I would understand if it was a busy night and she had a lot of customers, but it was a Wednesday night and there were only 4 tables occupied. Customer service is key especially in fine dining when you are already paying way too much to begin with. The food was excellent, but they definitely need to train their staff to be more attentive to their paying customers, especially when they are locals!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ayrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 September 2005

Too many problems for this price!
We were told that we were "upgraded" to a bigger room in the main house. It was just above the kitchen. The restaurant noise went on until 11:30 PM.
The second night we were moved to an quieter room. The shower water temperature fluctuated and the water pressure was weak.
The bed was hard.
They should have a no-smoking policy on the premise. The kitchen staff loved to smoke outside of our window.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 August 2005

This place definetely had a special charm to it that made me fall in love with it at first but we did have a problem with our room. But first the good things: it is a 2 minute walk to State Street, it has lovely gardens you can wander through and a wrap around porch that is adorable, the main building has big comfy couches and a fireplace they put on when it gets chilly at night and the staff seemed friendly.

We arrived at the Hotel at about 11pm, checked in and were very dissapointed with our room. We booked a Santa Barbara Queen (normally 225 - 185 with AAA discount) and it looked nothing like the picture on the website. We were in Room 25 in the Lincoln Building. The room was a lot smaller than it looked like it was online and there was no sofa in it like on the website. The bathroom was small and the furniture in the room looked old. The hotel was full so complaining was useless at that point but the next morning when we were on our way to breakfast we were annoyed to see that the rooms around us were much nicer than ours and bigger. Looked like our room was the only one not renovated. I'm not sure if we were given this room because we arrived too late and people switched out of that room or if they give the AAA people that bad rooms but I am writing them a letter and will post their response when I get it.

Despite my experience, the Upham property is very beautiful and a calming place to be. The breakfast area is also very cute as well as the afternoon wine and cheese. I'm interested to see the response to my letter.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2005

My boyfriend and I just spent three nights at the Upham and thought it was great. The buildings and gardens are really nice and there are several different places to relax and eat your breakfast or enjoy afternoon wine and cheese. We stayed in a King room in the Lincoln building. It was plenty big and the bed was super comfy. The room was oringally $249 on their website, but I called and ask for a dicounted rate, and they gave us he AAA rate. So, we paid $222. I could see how ground level rooms, especially in the cottages, could be a tad noisy because there are often people chatting in the common areas and gardens. Our room (#22) was on an upstairs corner so it was very quiet. The continental breakfast was slightly disappointing. The muffins and danishes were bland and didn't seem very fresh. Their restaurant (Louise's) serves lunch and dinner. It was always busy, and the menu looked great, but we never got a chance to eat there.
Overall, the Upham is great for a relaxing getaway. It is well located and has a nice B&B feel to it even though it is really more of an inn. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jzab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2005

I found the Upham Hotel to be exceptionally clean, the rooms were a little sparse and outdated but adequate. The bathroom was clean and large. The beds were comfortable. I thought the continental breakfast was good, although they did not offer a variety of breads only bagels. I thought for the money the rooms could have been a little more elegant. The staff was friendly and hospitable. The wine at night was a nice gesture. I searched for rooms all over Santa Barbara and the Upham was comparable with most of the hotels and motels in the Santa Barbara area. I would stay here again but the next time I would opt for one of the cottages. The grounds were quite lovely and well kept.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ronmedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing