We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best inns we've come across in CA”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at the Eagle Inn on our honeymoon early May 2011. We can't praise this place enough. First off it's in a great location in SB, just minutes from the beach and only a short walk from State Street (main shopping street). The girl at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The maids had put roses on our bed because they knew it was our honeymoon which was a lovely touch! Also, we're pretty sure (although not certain) that we got upgraded to a better room than what we booked. The rooms were lovely and clean and had an exceptionally comfy bed! Breakfast was delish, much better than the usual continental trash you get in most places. All in all a great experience, it's just a shame we only stayed one night!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
There are newer reviews for The Eagle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,566 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

My wife and I celebrated our 33rd anniversary here at this delightful getaway spot. Just a short couple of blocks from Cabrillo Street, the road that runs along the beach. We stayed in the Santa Catalina Room, a suite really, tucked away on the edge of the property built above a private carport, overlooking a quiet residential neighborhood. We had a living room with gas fireplace and flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The bedroom had another flat screen TV and a large whirlpool tub just steps from the foot of the king size bed. The bathroom had a large shower with spray heads at both ends. The icing on the cake was the Continental Breakfast of our choosing brought to us every morning. We had a great time!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The front desk was very helpful; the parking facilities was very good, it was quiet, in a good location (close to the water and shops, restaurants, etc). Breakfast was well done and different.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The Eagle Inn is a wonderful bed and breakfast with very courteous, knowledgeable staff. The beds are super comfortable. The baths very well equipped. The rooms spacious and clean. The breakfast yummy. The location spectacular being within walking distance of shopping, great restaurants and the beach and quiet. I have enjoyed my stay there on several occassions.

Room Tip: The Anacapa Room with patio and privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cawannabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We booked two rooms, one upstairs in the main building, and the top rate 1 bedroom suite cottage. Our family and we loved our entire stay. Very nice breakfeast, outstanding grounds, great staff and service. Well worth what we paid and the location is exactly what we wanted. We are glad to give it our best rating and now we have a great place to return to for anniversary or birthdays.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank old_GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, Owner at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to make it a great experience for everybody! We are all looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Eagle Inn has character in its design, interior and architectural detail. After our second stay within a year we were reminded of what a delightful, low-key, friendly inn it is. The rooms are not spacious but large enough and are well appointed, have a mini frig., tv, microwave, hairdryer, ironing board and iron, etc. Our standard queen (Room 221) was bright and airy as well as quiet. There is free on-site parking--once we arrive, we never used our car. You are within walking distance of the ocean, Maritime Museum, restaurants and the bottom of State Street where you can catch a free bus to take you to the shopping area. When we were here last June, they offered a continental breakfast--this year they are offering a full breakfast with two entree choices. The Inn staff was very helpful in steering us to a restaurant and pointing out what to avoid at the bar! All in all, a "feel good." stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampLeRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We spent a wonderful weekend at The Eagle Inn in Santa Barbara. Although it was just a few blocks from the beach, we were so comfortable and happy in our room that we didn't want to leave. We were in the San Clemente Cottage, and completely enjoyed our stay. The room was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed, and an equally cozy living area with a small fireplace, second TV, desk, and French doors to a private patio. Breakfast was delivered to our room in the morning with generous fresh fruit bowls, yogurt, granola, and a hot entree. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Definitely hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottyMojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £133 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing