We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My project team and I selected Eagle Inn based on the recommendation from a colleague. He did not steer us wrong. Eagle Inn felt very cozy for our 3 day business trip. Walking distance to the beach, State Street and to the wharf, it's well situated. I loved the daily breakfast and table service in their small dining room - high quality food at no extra charge. Each room felt unique and was well appointed. My room was on the first floor behind the front desk and I still had a quiet stay. We will certainly select this Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNichol71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Good to hear that people on business are able to enjoy The Eagle Inn just as much as those on vacation. Thanks for staying here, and we all look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    409
    89
    34
    15
See reviews for
234
1,208
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

One of the best comfortable beds I've ever slept in for a B&B. Looked like nice balconies off of some rooms. Friendly staff. Great location for walking to marina. Good location for driving to beautiful Santa Ynez wine country.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradodusty08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Santa Barbara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Eagle Inn is a wonderful place to stay, friendly staffs, clean and charming, and the breakfast is great. We drove by Santa Barbara and stayed at Eagle Inn, it was a very nice experience for our family. We will definitely go back there again if we are traveling in that direction.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thanks for your review. It's nice to hear that your family had fun in Santa Barbara. There is so much to do and we try to give suggestions for the things our guests are interested in. With breakfast and bicycle use, and wi-fi internet and parking all included in the price, it's really a great deal for families and for couples alike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I booked a room at the Eagle Inn when we found out that the Spanish Garden Inn (where we'd stayed on our last Santa Barbara visit) was full. Although we were initially disappointed when we couldn't get into our first-choice hotel, we were happily surprised to find that we'd stumbled onto a great (and less costly) alternative.

The Eagle Inn was beautiful ... very well run and maintained. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful but never obsequious. The "free" breakfast was delicious. Although we were surprised to be asked to choose between two breakfast "entrees" rather than the usual hotel buffet selections, we liked the idea of having atypical and high quality options (e.g., jalapeño waffles), even if there was less choice. There was also delicious fresh fruit and homemade (I think) granola. (And my husband asked for a bagel--not on the menu--with his breakfast, and it was promptly and cheerfully delivered.)

Although a previous reviewer complained about not getting immediate access to the inn's loaner bicycles, we didn't have that problem at all. We were directed to a garage that was FULL of bikes, and we had our choice. Given the small size of the inn, it was hard to imagine all of the bikes in use at once. We were also told that we could take the bikes to the beach for the entire day, if we wanted. We didn't have to watch the clock to be sure to return them at a specified hour. Parking was not a problem either, despite another reviewer's comment. The inn's lot is somewhat small but was generally adequate, and street parking directly in front of the inn was easy to find. (In fact, we tended to prefer it even when there was plenty of room in the lot.) We were in Santa Barbara during a busy time, so I think that my assessment of parking and bike availability isn't based on low-season travel but is probably what most guests can expect.

The inn is extremely well located. It's just a stone's throw to the beach (well, if you've got a good arm) and within an easy walk to shopping, cafes, restaurants, etc. The bikes make most all of Santa Barbara easily accessible, too.

We had one of the most basic rooms here (no fireplace, whirlpool, etc.) but were completely delighted with it. Next time I might want to try one of the snazzier ones, although we were pleased with the room we had and felt that we got very good value for our money.

We both highly recommend this beautiful hotel and are glad that we ended up there.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto the street. Although it's largely a quiet neighborhood street, not a main o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
What a great review. Thank you for such a complete review of breakfast and bikes etc. It's great to hear that we stack up to and even exceed those much more expensive hotels. Hopefully you're converted to The Eagle Inn for all your stays in Santa Barbara. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We celebrated our 10-year wedding anniversary and stayed two nights in the San Nicholas casita of this wonderful inn. I cannot say enough about the staff. From the moment we made our reservation to the day we left, they were very helpful with questions about restaurants and other items to make our anniversary as memorable as possible. Kirsten was the best and the chef, who also delivered breakfast, catered to our every need and special requests. Met Paul also, who was very pleasant.The Inn is perfectly situated between downtown and the beach. You can walk to practically everything. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lost175lbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Congratulations on your 10 year anniversary. We are all happy that we were able to help make your milestone even more memorable. Trying hard to please is what we do. Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your review. Hopefully we'll see you at year 11 too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed for a lovely night. Upgraded to honeymoon suite, laughingly because we are seniors!
Lovely room, bed so high needed a step ladder (just kidding). Every single amenity you could
Possibly ask for. Fireplace, jacuzzi, staff was great. Breakfast surprised by
Being so complete and healthy. Can't wait to stay again. Who knows what room we might
Get next time (laughing)'

Room Tip: All rooms looked good. No elevator to 2nd floor. We faced the street but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandpiper7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
We enjoyed having you stay at The Eagle Inn. Thank you so much for coming and thank you for your nice review. Honeymoon suite for seniors - sounds like a new marketing program. Thanks for the idea. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The location was great only a short walk to the beach, the service was incredible, breakfast was delicious, the room was clean and cozy, and above all, the friendiless and helpfulness of the staff made my Santa Barbara experience just magical. Thank you Eagle Inn for making my experience amazing. I would definitely go back to the Eagle Inn over and over and over and over again :D

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for your great review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Don't wait. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing