We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hideaway with a great location”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Looking for a non-chain romantic affordable room close to beach? The Eagle Inn is perfect with it's spacious rooms,large 2-person whirlpool tub,comfy bed and free breakfast.
Located within walking distance of The Brewhouse which has great craft beer(habenero pilsner is my fave!) & comfort food of all kinds!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,924)
There are newer reviews for The Eagle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Excellent staff; great location; excellent breakfast; room was a little small; short walk to the beach

Near State street, a nice walkable tourist street; recommend a visit to the Court House!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geowmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a Great place. Excellent location. Close to harbor for sunset cruise, close to downtown for Segway tour. Close to beach for moonlight walk. And best of all the staff. When I accidentally booked a Tuesday and really needed a Monday they magically fixed it. They booked my cruise and Segway tour at a discount and even allowed a late check out to accommodate our morning. Katie and the crew you guys/gals Rock. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: We loved room 210. Great view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Comfortable, visually pleasing, quiet, nice breakfast, good location, friendly staff, on site free parking and internet. What else could we want?! Oh yeah, decent prices!
We had an iron that didn't work. The staff found another one. They have soy milk for breakfast--made my day! Within walking distance from good food, and nice walk on the beach. We are on the second floor (no elevator, as far as I know), quiet room. I lived here for 20 years, and this is the first time I've stayed in a hotel here. This will be my go-to place on future visits. Although I hope it doesn't become so popular itis hard to book!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please - don't keep it a secret. Let all of your friends know. We need more visitors to Santa Barbara and especially to The Eagle Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We try to come to Santa Barbara every year. This is the first time we have stayed at the Eagle Inn. Our room on the second floor was very comfortable and quiet. The room came with a fireplace, jacuzzi tube, dual showers in the bathroom and a balcony for enjoying the complemtary breakfast. One suggestion we have is offer a greater variety of breakfast items. When ever we had questions the staff was always very helpful and friendly. The inn is conveniently located within walking distance to the beach, restruants and shopping. Definitely a good value for the money. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for writing about your stay. It's always useful to us to be able to know how we can better our services. Hopefully, next time you come, you'll notice what we've implemented. Thanks again and we are all looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay at this inn after reading all the reviews and generally it didn't disappoint but there were one or two issues..when we checked in the first room we were given was right beside reception with a window beside the car park..to get any privacy you would have had to close the blinds all day..admittedly the reception staff were very understanding..they must be used to people refusing that room and did manage to find us another room on the 1st floor which was smaller but acceptable. the room was well kitted out and we also enjoyed using the courtesy bikes.
However on both mornings we stayed we found the breakfast staff inefficient, dopey and verging on the surly. on morning one we saw some of the guests being offered fresh orange juice and asked for a glass it never appeared.. The main course that day for breakfast was eggs waffles and sausage..one of the guests in a neighbouring table asked if they could specify how the eggs were cooked to be told "no" by the waitress who just then walked off..both mornings we had to ask twice for the empty hot water dispenser to be refilled and had also to wait 10 mins on morning 2 for clean mugs ..it was strange as one of the staff at breakfast on morning 1 had been on duty at reception the previous day and was friendly and efficient but at breakfast he looked and acted as if he had been up all night and one of the girls on on day two gave an audible big sigh every time she had to clear a table.. We did not enjoy the experience of sitting at breakfast either morning which was a shame as everything else was fine

Room Tip: Not on ground floor unless out in one of the cabanas
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay in Santa Barbara. I must admit that I am a little surprised to read your comments. You and I had a long conversation about the history of the Eagle Inn and about the owner's story. Never once did you mention any problems with the staff or with our service. It would have been nice to have been able to address and solve your concerns while you were here rather than on a review site a month after you've departed. Anyway, so you know, the staff you complained about have been spoken to. One no longer works here, and the other has undergone some additional training. Despite the service concerns, I'm glad that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, the free use of the bikes, and the rest of our hospitable staff members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Such a wonderful stay! We were late in arriving and to our surprise we received a call from Katie just checking on us. She wanted to make sure we had everything we needed upon arrival. Nice touch! Our room was gorgeous! Katie and Kirsten were both so helpful in answering questions, making suggestions for site seeing and making reservations for excursions. Breakfast was so nice and Cody was very pleasant and attentive! Having free access to bicycles was also a plus! A great way to see the town! We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Santa Barbara and especially our stay at the Eagle Inn. Felt so much like home! Would definately recommend this property!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Good to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful! I know it's a long way from home, but come back anytime! Tell all of your friends too!
Thanks for the great review. It's always nice to hear that we were able to help make vacations even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
799 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £133 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing